Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I hate pot pie, and this is one of my favorite meals! It is SO delicious! My husband and I like to use canned corn and green beans and fresh broccoli in place of frozen veggies, but we've made it both ways and its delicious both ways! We've also tried it with all that plus cauliflower. And we found that a family size can of cream of chicken soup works better than 2 regular cans. Its fun to mix it up with different veggies and its very, VERY easy to make and even more delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was pretty good - I took the first reviewers advice and I liked it.. I ate almost the whole pot pie myself over a couple of days. My husband liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meljeffnkids
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Excellent and sooo simple! I used regular cooked chicken breast and I also cooked the biscuits prior to baking the pie!! Will use this over and over again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
The basic recipe was very good. I made it this week and my wife and I enjoyed it. Will definately use this recipe again, with some changes. I used canned turkey instead of chicken. Our only complaint was that there was not enough turkey. Next time I would diffenately use two cans of turkey or cook some chicken and chop up. Will probably try some different flavors of soups ie. cream of mushroom, celery, potato and so on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Simple to make but you get the same result as if you spent hours. I just used a package of frozen veggies and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverdale, Utah, USA
Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This turned out wonderfully and friends approved! I used 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of potato soup. For the biscuit dough, I went with Immaculate Baking Co. refrigerated buttermilk biscuits, squishing most on the bottom of a glass pan to create a lower crust (cooking it for 15 minutes while combining the other ingredients, as suggested). For the chicken, I cooked 1.5 fresh chicken breasts in butter in a skillet and tore them into pieces. This recipe tasted great and I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
this was perrty good: however next time I think i will cook my own chicken instead of canned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is soooo easy and very yummy on a cold night. I added more chicken the second time I made it to give it a little more substance and used low-fat cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Ok I made a bunch of changes only because I was in a bind and did an ingredient search and this was the closest to what I had on hand. I did not use a pie crust. I had boneless chicken thighs that I boiled while simmering the milk soup and veggies. I tore up the chicken and put it in a 9 x 13 pyrex. I poured the soup mixture on top and took the biscuits and rolled them into little dumplings and pushed them in the mixture. I cooked it for 15 miutes. I got rave reviews. Thanks for saving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I've made this recipe as-is and it turned out very well. But tonight I tried something a little different. I try to make at least one meal with fish or seafood each week. So, I substituted fish for the chicken and condensed clam chowder for the cream of chicken. The fish was Mahi Mahi, and I cut it into piece and sauteed it quickly in the saucepan before adding the vegetables. Also, I found 1.5 tablespoons of melted butter to be quite sufficient. It turned out really well! So Cheater Pot Pie can easily become Fish Pot Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States