Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
The basic recipe was very good. I made it this week and my wife and I enjoyed it. Will definately use this recipe again, with some changes. I used canned turkey instead of chicken. Our only complaint was that there was not enough turkey. Next time I would diffenately use two cans of turkey or cook some chicken and chop up. Will probably try some different flavors of soups ie. cream of mushroom, celery, potato and so on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Simple to make but you get the same result as if you spent hours. I just used a package of frozen veggies and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverdale, Utah, USA
Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This turned out wonderfully and friends approved! I used 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of potato soup. For the biscuit dough, I went with Immaculate Baking Co. refrigerated buttermilk biscuits, squishing most on the bottom of a glass pan to create a lower crust (cooking it for 15 minutes while combining the other ingredients, as suggested). For the chicken, I cooked 1.5 fresh chicken breasts in butter in a skillet and tore them into pieces. This recipe tasted great and I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
this was perrty good: however next time I think i will cook my own chicken instead of canned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is soooo easy and very yummy on a cold night. I added more chicken the second time I made it to give it a little more substance and used low-fat cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Ok I made a bunch of changes only because I was in a bind and did an ingredient search and this was the closest to what I had on hand. I did not use a pie crust. I had boneless chicken thighs that I boiled while simmering the milk soup and veggies. I tore up the chicken and put it in a 9 x 13 pyrex. I poured the soup mixture on top and took the biscuits and rolled them into little dumplings and pushed them in the mixture. I cooked it for 15 miutes. I got rave reviews. Thanks for saving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I've made this recipe as-is and it turned out very well. But tonight I tried something a little different. I try to make at least one meal with fish or seafood each week. So, I substituted fish for the chicken and condensed clam chowder for the cream of chicken. The fish was Mahi Mahi, and I cut it into piece and sauteed it quickly in the saucepan before adding the vegetables. Also, I found 1.5 tablespoons of melted butter to be quite sufficient. It turned out really well! So Cheater Pot Pie can easily become Fish Pot Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
We just finished this pot pie and it was YUMMY. I made the changes that the first reader said and used broth instead of milk. I also used "real" chicken that I boiled beforehand. It was soooo easy!!! And I was actually surprised how good it was b/c it was so easy to make. I also used crescent rolls instead of biscuits b/c that is what I had on hand. I put half on bottom and cooked them before I cooked the rest of the pie and that worked well also. Very good meal that I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I used pie crusts(one for the top and bottom) instead of biscuits for this. Used one can of cream of celery and one of cream of chicken. I also added small chunks of potatoes in the veggie mix. I did not use canned chicken, I used chicken breasts. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
My husband and I are addicted to this. I make it almost once a week! I use pillsbury crescent rolls spread flat on the bottom bake until light brown then add the mix ( I just use one can of crm of chicken soup and no milk needed, it was plenty creamy!) then top with the crescent rolls spread out flat again until its browned. yum, yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States