Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
awesome ! We halved the biscuits and placed one layer on the bottom and cooked them for 10 minutes and then added the mixture and last half of the biscuits on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michround

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is a great pot pie recipe. My family loved it so much I'll need to double the recipe next time! I followed the advice of others and added some poultry seasoning, garlic powder, and additionally sprinkled some cheddar cheese on the mixture before placing the biscuits on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I loved this recipe so much that I wrote it down on a recipe card and stuck it in my recipe binder - only the best recipes make it into my binder. :) I didn't have the canned biscuits on hand, so I made half of a biscuit recipe from another cook book. I also didn't measure the frozen veggies exactly - I had several bags of various frozen veggies in my freezer and a can of corn that I mixed together. A second can of chicken made it meatier and more savory. You won't be disappointed with this go-to dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have made this a few times now, and the best way that i have found is to buy a roasted chicken and use that. Then i also substituted the condensed soups for one can of cream of mushroom ready to serve kind. I also use the large crescent roll dough instead of the biscuits, i found that the biscuits just were too much bread. I layer the bottom with half (two pieces of dough for the crescent rolls) bake for about 10 mins, add the mixture from the pot, then top with the other two pieces of crescent roll dough and bake for another 15 mins. I didnt add the butter, but i thought with the premade dough you didnt need it! Hope this helps anyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I cheated even further. Instead of putting the mixture into a pie, I spooned it over rice. I used 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of celery. I added a little more milk, a small amount at a time, until the mixture thinned out a little bit. I added biscuits on the side. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Yum, and not too hard. Unlike many reviewers, I was looking for a recipe that DOES use canned soups so it was fast and easy. This one fit the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
great quick "homemade" pot pie! I use low sodium condensed cream of chicken soup, otherwise it is too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aury

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Just made this and it was great! I made a few changes after reading the comments: I used what was left of our Christmas turkey, and a can of mixed veggies instead of frozen + a can of corn (we really like veggies). 1 can of cream of chicken soup, plus about a cup each of leftover turkey gravy and some freshly made turkey stock, plus a little milk to make it creamy. Simmered the sauce for a little bit before adding the meat and veg, plus a few seasoning (salt & pepper, garlic Lowery's season salt, a little poultry seasoning). Followed the suggestion to split the biscuits and make a top and bottom layer. I had too much filling for the pan, but then not enough in the pie so we scooped some extra on. I think next time we'll just cook the biscuits separately and pour the filling over. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this for some friends and I was thinking 'comfort' type food. It was easy and a hit with adults and 4 young kids. There was nothing left. My only substitute was chicken and rice condensed soup instead of chicken because it was what I had in lower sodium. I also used a rotissere chicken like suggested in another review. My husband added a little shreaded cheese to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Four stars as-is, Five stars with changes. It was really tasty! *I added oregano, thyme & rosemary. *I used 4 fresh chicken breasts. I wanted to feed 8 people, so I used a 9"x13" pan with extra veggies and it needed extra liquid. *I made a roux and added ~1 c. broth. Be sure to use low-sodium soups. *The biscuits needed to be cooked separately for 6 minutes. I then inverted them (cooked-side down) and finished on the dish as the recipe says. It turned out great! It might sound like a lot of changes, but they were all very easy and quick. I'll certainly make again. Thanks Melanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States