Cheater Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Mine came out nice except my biscuits were the GRANDS and they came out gooey on the bottomt... but the inside tasted good. (Was like a chicken stew). I added chopped canned potatoes and left over veggies from the fridge. I will try this recipe again with the smaller, thinner biscuits.I also added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 can of chicken gravy (In place of milk and Cream of chicken soup). I had to use what I had on hand... which makes this recipe very versatile. The consistancy (without milk and just with soup and gravy) was perfect. 3 tablespoons butter, melted 1 (16 ounce) can mixed vegetables 1 (5 ounce) can chicken chunks, drained 1 16 ounce can whole cooked potatoes 1 (10.75 ounce) cans condensed cream of mushroom soup 1 can of chicken gravy salt and pepper to taste 1 (10 ounce) can refrigerated layered biscuits Check All
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I'm not a fan of canned chicken, so I used two chicken breasts and seasoned them. I also skipped the butter as the biscuits have enough richness & calories on their own! Other than that, I didn't make any changes. I really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very good recipe. Having the biscuits on top makes for a nice looking dish, but I think I'll just make them on the side next time, so they won't be soggy for leftovers. I would also recommend using a larger can of chicken. I used 12 oz. and it worked wonderfully! Yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is awesome! Used real diced chicken and cream of celery and mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this and my family really enjoyed it! I don't do creamy soup so I made my own vegan version and used faux chicken...GREAT meal ... will make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
My mom made this and now I make it for my family. We use our own homemade biscuits, don't add butter, and buy a precooked rotisserie chicken to tear apart. Other than that it is pretty much the same. Some might not think it is 5 stars but when you grow up loving it, there is no other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made a few changes to this but it was fantastic! I used to be scared of making pot pie I thought it was too hard but this was sooo easy! My kids LOVED it! This is a keeper!! I doubled this recipe and when I split the bisquits I put them on the bottom of the dish as well as on top. I baked it a little longer and put foil on top for the last 10 min so that the top bisquits would not overcook. I also added garlic pepper and a little extra milk. GREAT RECIPE and I would reccomend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Good when you're short on time and don't want McDs or that stuff. Got home at 610 and was eating by 7. Halved the recipe so had too many rolls left over but we thought it was a keeper. Will do again, maybe add some cheese or bacon or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I adjusted the recipe slightly for picky kids and to reduce the fat. I used 1 can fat-free cream of chicken and 1 regular, I used 1 lb diced fresh cooked chicken breast, 1 can of fat-free skim milk (whisked it with the condensed cream soup base), then added 1 1/2 cups total of frozen peas, carrots, and corn. I then heated the soup and veggie mixture in a pan sprayed with cooking spray (since I omitted the butter) and heated it up for a few minutes. Then topped it with southern style biscuits and waited for the biscuits to brown, then placed foil over for 5 minutes, until it was done (to prevent the biscuits from browning too much) . My kids and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Good easy recipe for a quick weeknight meal. I added some Le Seur carrots and peas that happened to be in the pantry and frozen corn. I find tarragon to be a great herb with any creamy chicken recipe so I added come dried to give it a home-cooked taste. Definitely not the greatest pot pie but I love it for ease and quickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States