Cheater Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I read the reviews about the oversweet factor, I added 1 tsp. lemon juice and the vanilla, I skipped the maple flavoring. It turned out really good, obviously pure maple syrup lovers will be disappointed but this is better than store bought pancake syrups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
We made this many times, my family prefers it to store bought ... wonderful and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gresha Wolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
For everyone who does not like their syrup sweet. Use 1/2 cup of sugar. You will have to boil a couple minutes longer until it thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bia Reyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I tried and failed, it started to separate so I made the mistake of cooking it longer! :( I have a hard candy like substance on my pancakes lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was pretty good. Was in a pinch and ran out of store bought syrup. This did the job. No complaints from the kids. Yes, it's sweet, but it's sugar and water...going to be sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Yes we were out of maple syrup and making pancakes, so this recipe saved me a trip to the store!! I used vanilla but did not have any maple flavoring, so instead, at the advice of my husband I tried just a few drops of almond extract and the result was delightful!! I also added about 1 Tablespoon of corn syrup to prevent the syrup from crystalizing (a trick I learned from watching Good Eats with Alton Brown)and so far it is working!!! Will definitely be keeping this amended recipe for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I don't usually eat pancakes, but my family loves them. I like real maple syrup for them so they don't get corn syrup from regular pancake syrup. I tweaked this recipe by using 1 cup sucanat and 1 cup demerara sugar. My husband said it could use more maple flavor, but I thought it was great just the way it was. I would recommend this recipe for anyone in a pinch who doesn't have syrup on-hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Even though it crystalized, I am still giving it 5 stars based on the flavor. I added some butter flavoring to it as well and MAN OH MAN, this was soo good! This was the only change I made. Serve it HOT over some freshly made pancakes and you will have the best pancake breakfast ever! Serving it hot makes a BIG difference in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
So easy and yummy~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roosevelt, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Family didn't like the way it solidifies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States