Cheater Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
soooo good! this is definitely a keeper! I did add any maple or vanilla essence! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I gave this 4 stars because I changed the recipe a bit. I did not have the maple extract, so I added a 1/4 tsp of buttercream bakery emulsion instead. I also doubled the recipe and it was a little bit more than my 24 oz. empty bottle of store-bought stuff. I really like this recipe because I tried another recipe with milk and it was clumpy and had a weird consistency. It didn't stay smooth like this recipe. My kids loved this pancake syrup over homemade pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CucaCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Heat the sugar and water very slowly and do not let it boil, it will not crystallize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Wessinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I read the reviews about the oversweet factor, I added 1 tsp. lemon juice and the vanilla, I skipped the maple flavoring. It turned out really good, obviously pure maple syrup lovers will be disappointed but this is better than store bought pancake syrups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
We made this many times, my family prefers it to store bought ... wonderful and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gresha Wolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
For everyone who does not like their syrup sweet. Use 1/2 cup of sugar. You will have to boil a couple minutes longer until it thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bia Reyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I tried and failed, it started to separate so I made the mistake of cooking it longer! :( I have a hard candy like substance on my pancakes lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was pretty good. Was in a pinch and ran out of store bought syrup. This did the job. No complaints from the kids. Yes, it's sweet, but it's sugar and water...going to be sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Yes we were out of maple syrup and making pancakes, so this recipe saved me a trip to the store!! I used vanilla but did not have any maple flavoring, so instead, at the advice of my husband I tried just a few drops of almond extract and the result was delightful!! I also added about 1 Tablespoon of corn syrup to prevent the syrup from crystalizing (a trick I learned from watching Good Eats with Alton Brown)and so far it is working!!! Will definitely be keeping this amended recipe for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I don't usually eat pancakes, but my family loves them. I like real maple syrup for them so they don't get corn syrup from regular pancake syrup. I tweaked this recipe by using 1 cup sucanat and 1 cup demerara sugar. My husband said it could use more maple flavor, but I thought it was great just the way it was. I would recommend this recipe for anyone in a pinch who doesn't have syrup on-hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States