Cheapskate Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
My kids and I liked it, but my husband didn't. In order to make it faster I cooked the carrots in the water in the microwave for 5 minutes, then added it at the right time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
this was okay. Next time if I make it again I will add more tomato sauce, wasn't saucy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dade City, Florida, USA
Living In: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
There seems to be something missing in this. It's a little bland in flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I have to admit, this recipe was a little dissapointing after all the great reviews I read. It wasn't horrible, but I don't think I'll be making it again. Thanks to the reviewer who suggested adding cheese, it made a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
DEICIOUS is all I can say about this recipe. We thought is was very tasty!! I added garlic when frying my hamburg. The veg's I used were 1 cup of can whole tomatoes cut up (plus some liquid), 3/4 cup of frozen corn, 3/4 cup of fresh green beans cut up small( precooked them for a while), plus the 3 carrots stated in the recipe, and shell pasta. I followed the rest of the recipe, and this turned out delicious. I love the Italian seasoning flavor. We did sprinkle a little parmesan cheese on it when serving. It was thick...but so what! The flavor was there and that was important. Very healthy and filling. Good meal for these chilly nights. Served with buttered dinner rolls...EXCELLENT !! Thanks so much for the recipe...it definitely is a keeper in my house..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
The end result of this recipe resembled recipes I have called "Peasant Pasta". I only had 1 lb. ground beef and 1 c (when raw) elbow macaroni so I used those quantities instead of what was listed. I added some additional seasoning as recommended by other readers. My family like it, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This recipe was not exactley what I thought it would be it was rather bland tasting while other ingredients were plentiful there did not seem to be enough liqued left in the pot after cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnnie Mendenhall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Overall good and very easy to make. I added a little seasoned salt to bring out the flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Not bad, but not gourmet - definitely traditional all American homecooked meal. I added garlic powder and extra italian seasoning like other reviews suggested. I froze half of it for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This is actually better on day 2. I expected more flavor after all the great reviews. Kids and husband loved it and polished off the leftovers. Very fresh alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States