Cheapskate Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Originally I followed this recipe to a T, but upon tasting, I changed quite a few things to improve it. I used at least twice as much Italian seasoning as it called for (I confess that after a while I stopped measuring) and added more water to it. I used the Italian Seasoning I from this site; it gave the stew a nice herb-y flavor, but it was still very bland. Instead of pasta, I used left-over white rice I'd cooked in chicken broth. It added some nice flavor, but sucked up all the liquid and gave the stew an odd, grainy texture. Next time I'll use pasta as the recipe states. It was still bland, however, so I added a can of diced tomatoes and plenty of salt. (Around 2 tbsp) I added cheese and hot sauce to mine at the table. That helped a lot! Next time I'll use spicy Rotel with chilies and pasta instead of rice. I will make again, but without my adjustments I would rate this recipe maybe 2-3 stars. Thanks for the idea though, this can be a great recipe if you play with it some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daytripperrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I've made it 5+ times. Sometimes I use potato in place of the pasta. Very quick, easy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I added Worcestershire sauce (instead of salt) and jalapeno. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
After I browned the meat, celery, and onions I threw everything in the slow cooker (except the pasta) on high for 2 hrs and low for 4 hrs. I ended up leaving out the pasta entirely and it was just fine without it. I found this recipe to use up some leftover spaghetti sauce from the jar. Inexpensive, easy, and tasty. Served with Super Easy Rosemary Bread Machine Bread recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
It wasn't good. It had no flavor. I had to add so many herbs, seasonings and cheeses just to make it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Not our favorite. Had to doctor to get a good flavor. Would make again but with many changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made this recipe and my family loved it. I didn't have any celery so I didnt add it and I used canned mixed vegetables and it was really tasty. Although, when I made it I didnt realize the recipe called for 2 cups of "cooked" macaroni so when I used 2 cups of uncooked macaroni, that kinda soaked up most of the sauce..but it was still good and next time I will only stir in 1 cup of uncooked macaroni. Will definitely have again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
It is literally a pot full of veggies and ground beef, but I guess that's why it's called cheapskate stew. Simple and loved it. Perfect for busy people that want leftovers for next day. Would make it over and over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Fabulous....IMy only changes were Dill weed, chopped garlic, fresh basil, and topped each bowl with a dollip of sour cream/chives. I needed to use up some meat juice (from a roast)so I used this instead of water. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Easy to make, however my family didn't care for it. I used leftovers in homemade veggie soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschoolmomof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Herington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States