Chayote Squash Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Omg - this is delicious!! I made it like the others recommended subbing lime juice for the vinegar and sautéing onions with the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Used other suggestions and added thinly sliced pieces of onion and just a dash of the vinegar the rest of lime. I didn't want it to taste too vinegar-y and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I loved this, but with a few changed. No sugar or vinegar, more onions and red pepper flakes, and added lime and pine nuts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I tried both variations -- with the vinegar and with the lime juice. Both were delicious and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Simple and delicious. A tasty quick and easy side dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le Anne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
First time we had Chayote Sqhash and we loved it! I added some celery, carrots and a little Bok Choy. Used lime juice instead of the vinegar and left out the sugar. Added fresh Cilantro for seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Delicious! I used lime juice instead of the wine vinegar and I peeled the chayote before cooking. I was not sure how it would come out since we eat chayote often but it is always boiled. I love my chayote to be crunchy so I made sure it was not overcooked. Loved the recipe and will make it again this way. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Lovely! I live in AZ and we have alot of excellent Mexican vegatables at our Food City stores. This squash is very inexpensive and makes a great side dish. Great recipe, the lime juice is especially nice. I don't use sugar in my veggie dishes, but otherwise everything else was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweettea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I'm just not a fan of this veggie. It was ok, but not a keeper in our family. I may try it again if I find it for a good price in store, otherwise, I'll probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Today I have added 4 gold potoatoes sliced as I would slice the choyote and added 2 mexican onion bulbs, throwing it in a foil pouch on the bbq with the chicken for dinner ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States