Chayote Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
We really liked this soup. I had 2 chayotes and had no idea how to fix them when I found this recipe. The soup was creamy and delicious. I served it 2 days after I made it. The only change I made was to add 1 jalapeno pepper when cooking instead of the red pepper flakes. I served it with a sprinkling of fresh ground parmesian cheese and a couple of homemade croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA
Photo by Mandals
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
WOW, for 61 calories per serving this is amazing!! SO much flavor!! I *love* chayote's and was looking for new way to enjoy them! I will make this recipe for years to come!! I followed the recipe to a "T". I bet it would be good served chilled too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I can't believe how good this is. This was the first time I have used Chayote and I am in love. Seriously, it tastes like you have added so much cream to this soup. It is delicious and guilt free!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I was trying to figure out what to do with the Chayote's my mother-in-law gave me and I loved this recipe. Even though I like spicy foods, I will put less pepper in it next time. Love the creamy texture and the fact that it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good recipe. The soup tastes creamy and delicious! Instead of red pepper flakes, I just chopped a jalepeno instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Delicious! My only change would be to use a food processor instead of a blender. I have a really good blender, but it still came out not quite creamy enough until I put it through the food processor. It might be good with a dollop of queso fresco at the end too - I'm going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
When I made this recipe (incl 2 jalapenos mentioned above) for my parents for dinner, my mother said it was a soup fancy enough to serve at an elegant dinner party. Everyone loved how it tasted and that it was so pretty. When I ate the leftovers the next day, I put in a dollop of sour cream and it was even more divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I will now be growing these !! This was so surprisingly creamy good. I can really see this as a base for some summer chilled soups as well. So simple and just darn GOOD! Thanks I would NEVER have thought to use these like this. It's a true keeper for me! Just love it, LOW CAL TO !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was great! I did add 1 tspn cumin and also 1 serrano pepper. I topped it with cojita cheese. Thanks I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I finally found a way to eat chayote, very popular in Honduras. I make it without the chilli peppers and my kids can eat it, and then I add chipotle peppers in the blender for my husband and myself, I loooove it with chipotle, and the leftovers are used as sauce for quesadillas or spaguetti the next day. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States