Chayote Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mandals
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
WOW, for 61 calories per serving this is amazing!! SO much flavor!! I *love* chayote's and was looking for new way to enjoy them! I will make this recipe for years to come!! I followed the recipe to a "T". I bet it would be good served chilled too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I can't believe how good this is. This was the first time I have used Chayote and I am in love. Seriously, it tastes like you have added so much cream to this soup. It is delicious and guilt free!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I somehow liked the soup more the next day. Perhaps the flavors had mellowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Yum! I used parsley instead of cilantro, and it's good, but probably would be better with cilantro. I also added two jalapenos, sliced/diced. This soup is delicious and I love how it seems creamy yet is so healthy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I was trying to figure out what to do with the Chayote's my mother-in-law gave me and I loved this recipe. Even though I like spicy foods, I will put less pepper in it next time. Love the creamy texture and the fact that it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good recipe. The soup tastes creamy and delicious! Instead of red pepper flakes, I just chopped a jalepeno instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
We really liked this soup. I had 2 chayotes and had no idea how to fix them when I found this recipe. The soup was creamy and delicious. I served it 2 days after I made it. The only change I made was to add 1 jalapeno pepper when cooking instead of the red pepper flakes. I served it with a sprinkling of fresh ground parmesian cheese and a couple of homemade croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Good taste. Needs a bit more substance though. Maybe some meat or another vegetable. My husband doesn't like his food pureed. "I want to chew it for myself." I kind of felt this way for this soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
we LOVED it! my husband who didn't even want to try it because he doesn't like chayote very much is now asking for a bowl of it! I made it a bit spicy with 2 jalapenos but the flavor is great. i also used white pepper which adds a nice flavor. we will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My first chayote recipe and it was great! I used chicken stock and 2 jalepenos. I will make this again. thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States