Chayote Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
DELICIOUS. The crushed red pepper gives it nice heat, the cilantro keeps it fresh. I added a tiny bit of chicken stock to the bouillon which made it a bit richer and really yummy. I think it would make a great sauce as well, with tacos or enchiladas. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Red pepper flakes are really spicy. I like a lot of heat, but this is a bit much for such a mild squash like chayote. I'm letting mine sit for a day and will add a dollop of sour cream and some crumbled queso fresco cheese for dinner tomorrow night. I'm sure that will help tame the heat too. This is a keeper!!! Note: wear gloves when peeling the chayote. It leaves a funky film that doesn't wash off right away. Weird. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Great soup!! I use it as a base for my chicken posole. It's much better than using plain chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Please Read! I have no food allergies, that I know of, but my hand took about 3 hours to heal after peeling these! "The flesh of chayote will remain firm if the skin is left on during cooking. You can peel chayote before or after cooking, but if you peel it before it may secrete a sticky substance that might irritate your skin. This substance disappears during cooking. To peel chayote before cooking, wear gloves or oil your hands or peel under running water."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
My husband and I really loved this. It has a great flavor! The cilantro in it was perfect. I also used one jalapeno instead of red pepper flakes. Next time I will not core the jalapeno so thoroughly to give it even more kick. With the one jalepeno cored it just had a hint of heat. I used an immersion blender to puree and it worked great with way easier clean up. Served with parmesan and croutons. That addition took it from really good to AMAZING!! I'd never even heard of chayote squash before I was given some last week. Now I'll be planting them in my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Surprisingly good! The chili flakes add the appropriate heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was so delicious that I could not believe it was healthy for me. It was creamy and the cilantro makes it taste fresh. My roommate loved it as well! I took other reviewers' tips into consideration and added one jalapeno. Since I don't enjoy food that is extremely spicy, this was perfect for me. I also realized when I began cooking that I had no red pepper so I substituted in a bit of ground cayenne pepper. With this and the jalapeno there was a slight "hot" flavor after you swallowed and then it was gone; it didn't linger in my mouth. The only con is that it is a very unattractive green color so it could be hard to get picky eaters to try this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I finally found a way to eat chayote, very popular in Honduras. I make it without the chilli peppers and my kids can eat it, and then I add chipotle peppers in the blender for my husband and myself, I loooove it with chipotle, and the leftovers are used as sauce for quesadillas or spaguetti the next day. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was great! I did add 1 tspn cumin and also 1 serrano pepper. I topped it with cojita cheese. Thanks I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I will now be growing these !! This was so surprisingly creamy good. I can really see this as a base for some summer chilled soups as well. So simple and just darn GOOD! Thanks I would NEVER have thought to use these like this. It's a true keeper for me! Just love it, LOW CAL TO !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States