Chayote Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Awesome soup!! Really loved the flavor, much more complex than I had expected for the few ingredients used. Didn't have enough left to try the next day, but assume it would have been even better. I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I've used this recipe over and over. I make it without cilantro and its just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This soup is delicious! I didn't have bouillon so I used chicken broth instead. It is so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taterific
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This soup was good as is, but after making and tasting it I decided to enhance it to use it as a main dish. I added 1 cup cubed leftover roast beef, 1/2 cup chopped green peppers, 1/2 cup sliced carrots, 1 tbsp chopped cilantro to the cooked "base" and simmered for another 30 minutes. Topped it with chopped fresh cilantro, and served it with crisp tortilla chips, orange wedges, and red grapes. I sometimes use a soup similar to that utilizes cauliflower as the "base," then add chopped ingredients to increased variety of texture and flavor. However, I am happy to know that Chayote can be used in the same way. Having read other comments, I first simmered "immersed" chayotes in water for an hour, cut them (after cooling a spell) into about 5 rings each, then easily removed the skins manuevering quickly around each ring with a paring knife (took less than 2 minutes). I used a food processor to puree the chayotes before adding them to the sauteed onion mixture and broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Delicioso!!! I made this soup for the 1st time and was a hit!! I'm not a chayote fan but mom gave me homegrown chayotes from her garden. I didn't know what to do with them until I came across this recipe. I followed the recipe as written, just next time I will add only a pinch of crushed red pepper not 1/4 tsp. My mom and sons loved it. Definitely a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
We don't use bouillon cubes, so I followed the recipe using chicken stock in place of the bouillon and water--this soup was delicious! I garnished with some diced avocados, and they added a nice finish to the overall taste and texture. This was a super simple lunch and I'll definitely be doing it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I rarely take the time to rate items unless they are remarkably good. This meets that criteria and then some. This is by far one of the easiest and best soups I have ever made! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
DELICIOUS. The crushed red pepper gives it nice heat, the cilantro keeps it fresh. I added a tiny bit of chicken stock to the bouillon which made it a bit richer and really yummy. I think it would make a great sauce as well, with tacos or enchiladas. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Red pepper flakes are really spicy. I like a lot of heat, but this is a bit much for such a mild squash like chayote. I'm letting mine sit for a day and will add a dollop of sour cream and some crumbled queso fresco cheese for dinner tomorrow night. I'm sure that will help tame the heat too. This is a keeper!!! Note: wear gloves when peeling the chayote. It leaves a funky film that doesn't wash off right away. Weird. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Great soup!! I use it as a base for my chicken posole. It's much better than using plain chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States