Chayote and Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Instead of Italian sausage I used 1 lb of ground turkey seasoned with Penzy's breakfast sausage seasoning plus fennel seed. I only had two chayote. Used 2 serrano (seeds/ribs and all) instead of jalapeno. Otherwise, kept to the recipe (well, I was heavy handed with the chili powder and thyme). This is fantastic. Be careful not to overcook the chayote, it has such a delightful texture. I really made this highly seasoned, and in doing so the sweet, refreshing "cucumbery" flavor of the chayote was lost. That was my fault, not that of the recipe. Still, the texture works and I'll be happily eating these leftovers and making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made this tonight and we really liked it! I only used one jalapeno and added a little bit of chicken broth along with the tomatoes, beans and corn. Instead of serving it with rice, I spooned it over some Yukon Gold fingerling potatoes. I will make it again, next time I have a chayote on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great recipe because you can change it up so many ways. I had fresh chayote, onion, garlic, Anaheim chili pepper, tomatoes and thyme. I substituted pork chorizo and omitted the chili powder. It tastes great and costs little to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great Chayote recipe! Perfect for a chilly autumn night. I substituted chorizo (for italian sausage) and used 1 small can chopped jalapenos instead of fresh. Nice and spicy, great texture. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Northy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Was looking for a chayote recipe when I found this. What a fabulous dish!!! Highly recommended! Would increase the sweet Italian sausage (I used 2 pkgs & cut each link into 4 pieces), and maybe add one more chayote. Didn't have jalapenos and don't really like it too hot or spicy so substituted 6-8 individual red pepper flakes instead and was absolutely delighted at the taste and how the "heat" came up pleasantly as an afterthought! Great use of chayotes!! The tomatoe-chayote-corn mix with the thyme was unique - really good! I was also more liberal with the thyme (covered the top of the mixture, then stirred in). WOW - Yummy good!! Will make again real soon. And it tastes even better as leftovers! Letting it sit in the fridge just kept the flavors blending! Bon Apatite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This was very good. Because of my kids I only used Taco Seasoning and no extra chili. I also left out the jalapeno but I used lean ground beef and used tomatoes with lime (Rotel). It was even better reheated for lunch next day. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This is a great recipe for using the Chayote squash, which I had never tried before. The stew was great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was wonderful. I made some changes - mostly in amounts. I had an acorn squash, so I cubed that instead. I used 6 spicy italian suasage, doubled the onion(2), doubled the canned tomato, used a can of goya black bean SOUP in place of the black beans, and used about 3 cups of frozen corn. I let it stew for about an hour or so before trying it. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I was happy to see a recipe for chyote, which came in my CSA box. I followed the recipe except for using fresh tomatoes instead of canned (because that's all I had). It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was delicious! With just 2 of us, there was quite a bit for leftovers but this was even better when it was heated up for the 2nd and 3rd time. Very flavorful. I followed the recipe except added an extra jalapeno as we like our food spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States