Chayote and Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
(MY FIRST CHAYOTE RECIPE ATTEMPT )Very good! I used sausage links, cooked, then sliced. Had no beans or corn, but I did use lentils. Very good, I served with rice. Will make again next time chayotes are on sale :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
My family really liked this stew. I wouldn't normally have bought chayote but I recieved some as part of a food co-op and had no idea what to do with them! When I saw this recipe I knew it would go over well...and it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittnee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gooding, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was delicious! With just 2 of us, there was quite a bit for leftovers but this was even better when it was heated up for the 2nd and 3rd time. Very flavorful. I followed the recipe except added an extra jalapeno as we like our food spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Too hot! One two inch jalapeño will do it. Otherwise, we liked it. But, next time we will serve it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great Chayote recipe! Perfect for a chilly autumn night. I substituted chorizo (for italian sausage) and used 1 small can chopped jalapenos instead of fresh. Nice and spicy, great texture. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Northy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I was happy to see a recipe for chyote, which came in my CSA box. I followed the recipe except for using fresh tomatoes instead of canned (because that's all I had). It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Instead of Italian sausage I used 1 lb of ground turkey seasoned with Penzy's breakfast sausage seasoning plus fennel seed. I only had two chayote. Used 2 serrano (seeds/ribs and all) instead of jalapeno. Otherwise, kept to the recipe (well, I was heavy handed with the chili powder and thyme). This is fantastic. Be careful not to overcook the chayote, it has such a delightful texture. I really made this highly seasoned, and in doing so the sweet, refreshing "cucumbery" flavor of the chayote was lost. That was my fault, not that of the recipe. Still, the texture works and I'll be happily eating these leftovers and making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was wonderful. I made some changes - mostly in amounts. I had an acorn squash, so I cubed that instead. I used 6 spicy italian suasage, doubled the onion(2), doubled the canned tomato, used a can of goya black bean SOUP in place of the black beans, and used about 3 cups of frozen corn. I let it stew for about an hour or so before trying it. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very good! Used mild peppers instead of jalapenos for the kids. Would be better with the heat from jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I and my family really enjoyed this recipe. I adapted it for our plant-based diet using Trader Joe's Soy Chorizo, omitting the the olive oil (water sauteed the onion and garlic), seasoning with oregano instead of thyme and stirring in fresh baby spinach. This was our first intro. to chayote and we will enjoy it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States