Chayote and Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was wonderful. I made some changes - mostly in amounts. I had an acorn squash, so I cubed that instead. I used 6 spicy italian suasage, doubled the onion(2), doubled the canned tomato, used a can of goya black bean SOUP in place of the black beans, and used about 3 cups of frozen corn. I let it stew for about an hour or so before trying it. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Turned out pretty good. I made it with whatever I had on hand which was butter beans and veggie sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
(MY FIRST CHAYOTE RECIPE ATTEMPT )Very good! I used sausage links, cooked, then sliced. Had no beans or corn, but I did use lentils. Very good, I served with rice. Will make again next time chayotes are on sale :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Instead of Italian sausage I used 1 lb of ground turkey seasoned with Penzy's breakfast sausage seasoning plus fennel seed. I only had two chayote. Used 2 serrano (seeds/ribs and all) instead of jalapeno. Otherwise, kept to the recipe (well, I was heavy handed with the chili powder and thyme). This is fantastic. Be careful not to overcook the chayote, it has such a delightful texture. I really made this highly seasoned, and in doing so the sweet, refreshing "cucumbery" flavor of the chayote was lost. That was my fault, not that of the recipe. Still, the texture works and I'll be happily eating these leftovers and making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I was happy to see a recipe for chyote, which came in my CSA box. I followed the recipe except for using fresh tomatoes instead of canned (because that's all I had). It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was delicious! With just 2 of us, there was quite a bit for leftovers but this was even better when it was heated up for the 2nd and 3rd time. Very flavorful. I followed the recipe except added an extra jalapeno as we like our food spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great recipe because you can change it up so many ways. I had fresh chayote, onion, garlic, Anaheim chili pepper, tomatoes and thyme. I substituted pork chorizo and omitted the chili powder. It tastes great and costs little to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
My family really liked this stew. I wouldn't normally have bought chayote but I recieved some as part of a food co-op and had no idea what to do with them! When I saw this recipe I knew it would go over well...and it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittnee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gooding, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I and my family really enjoyed this recipe. I adapted it for our plant-based diet using Trader Joe's Soy Chorizo, omitting the the olive oil (water sauteed the onion and garlic), seasoning with oregano instead of thyme and stirring in fresh baby spinach. This was our first intro. to chayote and we will enjoy it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very good! Used mild peppers instead of jalapenos for the kids. Would be better with the heat from jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States