Chateaubriand Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Classic and simple way to cook filet mignon. The real Chateaubriand dish is this with a Bearnaise sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Melt in your mouth delicious!! Would make this again no doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I followed the instructions exactly, up to the cooking time per side. At 6 minutes a side, the meat was still cool in the middle and I just couldn't palate it (literally). A little more cooking, a little more resting and I must say, it was exquisite! Thank you so much for this simple, elegant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I give this high ratings for a Filet Mignon recipe. (Technically, Chateaubriand is the center 20 oz. or so of a beef tenderloin served typically with a Bearnaise sauce.) None the less this is a tasty, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is a 5 star PLUS recipe! I've made this dish twice, and each time it was superb. My husband -- who is my biggest fan and most constructive critic -- commented both times that it was the best steak "we've" ever made, cooked to absolute perfection! While the fillets are "standing," I add about 2 tablespoons red wine or brandy to the butter and drippings remaining in the skillet. If you deglaze the pan with this, it makes a lovely sauce to drizzle atop the sliced fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Excellent. We cooked the entire loin so it took longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Using Olive oil (instead of Veg oil) and Penzey's Mignonette pepper (instead of fresh ground). Less butter. Bacon wrapped filets. I absolutely adored this, though the kids were a bit less than thrilled. So juicy and flavorful! When you can't grill - this is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I prefer steak on the grill but this was pretty good. Used more butter and cooked to medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Chateaubriand is a classic french dish. This is not it. Do not be misled, while you may or may not like the recipe it is not Chateaubriand. If you would like to try the real thing, you won't be disappointed. While the recipe may vary, the basics of this dish are a pan seared centercut tenderloin cut into filets after cooking served with a Tarragon Bernaise sauce. Anything else is not Chateaubriand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This recipe was extremely easy and very good. With added seasoning and sauce to top it off I was very impressed, as were my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States