Chateaubriand Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Chateaubriand is a classic french dish. This is not it. Do not be misled, while you may or may not like the recipe it is not Chateaubriand. If you would like to try the real thing, you won't be disappointed. While the recipe may vary, the basics of this dish are a pan seared centercut tenderloin cut into filets after cooking served with a Tarragon Bernaise sauce. Anything else is not Chateaubriand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
AWESOME. I followed the instructions exactly and the fillet tasted like the last one I had at Taste Of Texas restaurant! It is so simple, yet so delicious. If you love a good steak dinner, you must try this. I've shared this with everyone I know and am getting rave reviews. Another reviewer suggested making a sauce - so I did and served it on the side. I just added a couple of tablespoons of Merlot wine to the steak pan, scraped up the crusty fon and let it reduce a little. Outstanding. Rayna you are very gracious for sharing this with your All Recipes friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Well, I have mixed feelings as far as this recipe goes. Yes what was left of it tasted great, but I'm just not sure that it was worth the second degree burns... there should be a couple warnings added to the recipe like 1) use ONLY THIN steak. 2) never cover it. 3) don't cut the meat to check for level of rarity. 4) most importantly, don't do all these things at once THE MEAT WILL EXPLODE IF THESE WARNINGS ARE NOT FOLLOWED CAUSING EXTREME BURNS!!! (other than that, it tasted ok)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
As a vegetarian I do not cook meat, however I wanted to prepare my fiancee a special meal of surf and turf. I found this recipe and tried it based on the 5-star rating. Plus, it was easy too! My fiancee can be extremely picky about how his meat is cooked so I was nervous. I cooked the filet exactly as instructed (5 minutes on each side gave a med-med/rare) and can say this is fool proof! My fiancee absolutely loved the recipe, and ate every morsel with delight. Highly reccommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Fast simple way to make tenderloin steaks. I usually wrap mine in bacon before cooking. Becareful not to over cook the meat. Even though my husband prefers meat well done he will eat these at medium. Anything more and your steaks start to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Delicious! Restaurant Quality! To make it a bit more like the famous steak house (R.M.'s) we use more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Very good. Added sauteed onions & fresh mushrooms in butter over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is a 5 star PLUS recipe! I've made this dish twice, and each time it was superb. My husband -- who is my biggest fan and most constructive critic -- commented both times that it was the best steak "we've" ever made, cooked to absolute perfection! While the fillets are "standing," I add about 2 tablespoons red wine or brandy to the butter and drippings remaining in the skillet. If you deglaze the pan with this, it makes a lovely sauce to drizzle atop the sliced fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This recipe blew me away! I didn't think making such slight changes to cooking method would make that big a difference, but it did! I followed the instructions to a "T", and enjoyed a perfectly cooked, steakhouse quality meal. Thanks for sharing your expertise, Rayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
The absolute best. Loved it so much we are having it again tonight. Served with roasted red potatoes laced with bay leaves and herbes de provence (a recipe in this month's Bon Appetit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States