Chateaubriand con Vino Brodo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Cooked a 4 lb. version in a roasting pan on the grill for a last minute Christmas brunch addition. Served with small buns to make mini sandwiches. Every bite was gone! I didn't take the time to make the sauce. I just served it with creamy horseradish. Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Fablous and really easy! I adjusted this recipe to make a whole beef tenderloin for a dinner party of 12. Even tripling the recipe was still very easy to put this on the table. Served with boiled new red potatoes with garlic, caesar salad, burgandy wine and chocolate lava cakes for desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
OMG!! This is one seriously delicious recipe! The only thing I did different was marinate it in the spices for 4 hours. This made the best and very romantic dinner for Christmas Eve. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Very good recipe. Served with garlic mashed potatoes. I used more than a "pinch" of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was fantastic! The sauce is to die for. There were only two things that I did differently: I let the olive oil, lemon juice and herbs soak into the meat for 24 hours and I added sliced portabella mushrooms to the sauce. Absolutely incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I have made this several times now, and it always is delicious. I often don't even make the sauce, but just use the meat preparation. This tender cut of meat is great all on its own. NOTE: I saw another reviewer saying that they boiled an expensive cut of beef. The meat should be in a roasting pan on a rack and the water sits underneath for moisture. Don't set the meat in the water. I also have found that it tasted better with well cracked fresh pepper, not whole peppercorns, that's just my personal preference. I find whole peppercorns a little overpowering. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Used the red wine dijon reduction on another recipe here for herb crusted tenderloin and the sauce was out of this world. Easy to make and very flavorful will use it again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
very good probably make again. lots of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This marinade was absolutely delicious, so was the sauce. I made some changes though. I did not roast the meat. I coated it with the oil, herbs, and stuffed it with garlic and let it marinate about 30min. then I cut a couple small pieces off and set aside for the sauce. I then grilled the meat. The meat pieces and the extra marinade I put in the pot in place of the meat drippings and then added the other sauce ingredients and extra herbs. It was absolutely to die for. My husband said it was so good he's not sure why we bother going out to eat haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Well, first of all, DO NOT PUT THE ROAST IN THE WATER! Put the roast ON the rack OVER the water. I opened the roast up and put all the goodies inside, except rosemary. Increased all the spices to at least 1 teaspoon each and tripled the garlic (of course, I live for garlic); you can put your choice of favorite spices in there but Tarragon is a must, retied the roast tightly. Preheated a cast iron skillet with olive oil to very hot, covered the roast with seasalt and fresh ground pepper and seared it on all sides, before sticking it in the oven, with a teaspoon of rosemary bits sprinkled on top, because I love the smell of it! I wouldn't dream of having this yummy dish without Béarnaise sauce, that is also classic for Chateaubriand, but the addition of shallots & Crimini mushrooms to the recipe sauce made it super yummy for me. Spoon the recipe sauce over for plating, but have the Béarnaise in a side dish for dipping, plus the classic Chateaubriand in France always has Chateau Potatoes, which are also yummers with the Béarnaise! I always use a good Cabernet when cooking with red wine; don't cook with wine that you wouldn't drink, the quality matters! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States