Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This recipe is very confusing. First it asked for cubed sweet potatoes, either canned or fresh. Secondly, it tells you to mash the sweet potatoes, so you assume it means to cook them before mixing them with the other ingredients. Thirdly, it tells you to cook the casserole until the potatoes are tender. Needs to be clarified. I cooked the potatoes first, then mashed them. I also had to add some time to the cooking, add at least 20 minutes to the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This dish is wonderful. I made a few changes though. I used fresh sweet potatoes, chopped them into small pieces and boiled them until just tender. Then I left out the coconut completely and instead of using all white sugar, I used half brown. After reading other reviews, I also used 1 stick (1/2 cup) butter in the dish and 1 stick in the topping. It was just right, no oozing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
Diana, VERY good! Every1 RAVED! I think this calls for way to much melted butter, next time I'll only melt 2 sticks butter for the whole thing. I also used 3/4 cup crushed corn flakes in the potatoe mixture for a total of 1 1/2 cups crushed flakes. I used a 29 oz. can cut up sweet potatoes witch mashes to approximatly 2 cups. Next time I'll try only 1/2 cup sugar if not any as I felt this didn't need sugar. GR8 recipe! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Even tho I had to make a few changes this is still a 5 start recipe. I looked at other reviews before making it and follow some advice. I only used 1 Cup white sugar 1/2 cup margarine in both places It turned out great. I made it for my hubbys employee Thanks Giving work lunch and none came home with him. I also used canned yams for I already had them. That was the main reason I cut back on sugar for it has sugar in them. If I would of use Fresh sweet potatoe I would of needed the extra sugar I'm sure. I did drain all juices off my canned yam before using them. Would make again for sure and thank you for sharing your recipe hun 0(*_*)0 Tonya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
OMG! These were the best sweet papas I've ever had. The only thing I did different was use about half the white sugar and increased the brown sugar to about 1/2 - 3/4 cup jam packed. Oh, and also I mixed in some mini marshmellows into the potatoes. Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Wonderful!I used canned sweet potatoes in syrup and cut the sugar in half! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I've been making this recipe for about 3 years now and whenever I go anywhere, I'm always asked to bring this dish specifically. I can't even remember how many times I've forwarded this recipe on. I make just as directed and it comes out great every time. The only thing that I found over the years, is that if I make it one day ahead and let it cool overnight, then warm it up in the oven on the day of, it's consistency is perfect!! Thanks to Charline for sharing this wonderful, scrumptious delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
I didn't really care too much for this dish. I thought it was too sweet. I think if I ever made this again, I'd not use as much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Excellent recipe and this is now going to be a holiday standard. I like things sweet, but I cut the sugar in half and only used 1 stick of butter for the casserole and 1/2 stick for the topping. Came out beautifully and ooey gooey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITCHENBOSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I made this last year for the first Thanksgiving at my house. WOW! Everyone loved it! My husband who says he "hates" sweet potatoes really liked it to his surprise. I came hunting for it this year because I lost the one I printed out. I remember making a few 'tweaks' but nothing major. You can't go wrong with this one! It was requested this year and it will be on our Thanksgiving table for years to come. Thanks Diana and whomever Charline is too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States