Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is a yummy one! I made for a Thanksgiving dinner and people were having second helpings of this instead of pumpkin pie for dessert! It's quite sweet but the topping is amazing. I omitted the coconut as I don't care for it, but the crunchy cornflakes and pecans adds just the perfect amount of extra flavor! I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was delicious, but I reduced the sugar and everyone still found it a bit too sweet. I will try it again with even less sugar next time. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is the best,everyone in my family especially at get togethers no matter what time of year always requests this. My husbands family says that I can stay in the family as long as I bring this one that's nice of them after 26 years of marriage and they used to request hot wings but no more.Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I made this for a Native American/ Irish wedding for 60 people and it was a huge hit. Several people asked me for the recipe. My son, who was 9 at the time and a very picky eater, loved it because of the marshmallows! The chewy coating on top was what people liked the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
My family raved about this dish. A total crowd pleaser. It's delicious and easy to make. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Diana, I just wanted to say, thanks to you, My husband is in hog heaven.... Our whole family has fallen in love with this recipe... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is always a huge hit. I did some minor modifications as the first time it was more like a dessert.(which isn't a bad thing :)) For sugar, I only used 1 1/3 cup. And for the butter, I only used a stick each time vs. a stick and a half. I even may cut down more as the last time it still had a lot of butter around the edges. Overall this recipe is great, thanks so much for sharing it will us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is THE BEST sweet potato recipe I've ever had!!! I have made it for the past 2 years for both Thanksgiving and Christmas. Its been a hit every time. In fact my sister tells me I can't come to holiday dinner unless I bring these.. I cut up fresh yams/sweet potatoes, boil them for just a few minutes so their not quite tender (the oven does the rest) I also leave them in chunks not mashed. I omit the coconut and only use 1 cup of sugar. All I can say is YUMMIE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this last Thanksgiving and I am so glad I found the recipe again so I can make it this Thanksgiving! It was the best Sweet Potato Casserole I have ever had - even my husbnad ate it and he hates sweet potatoes! It really is more of a dessert, so I would suggest using less sugar if you don't have a sweet tooth. I'm gonna be making this every Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This is fabulous, can't be beat!! I made it the first Thanksgiving I discovered it on your site, and have been requested to make it every year since then. Its sweet enough to be served as a dessert as well. Thanks, Charlene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States