Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
used about half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeloflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made it for an office Thanksgiving potluck and my coworkers raved about it and gulfed it down. I should have halfed the butter and the sugar and decreased (or eliminated) the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZeeMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My FAVORITE thing to make for Thanksgiving! I have had numerous assignments to bring this dish to Thanksgiving dinner since I first made it years ago. My family says, "Bring your yammies!!!" Perfect 5s. This is like a dessert. You will not regret making this - but you will regret not making enough! Some confusion about what type of sweet potatoes to use: I bought the large cans of yams that are readily available at the grocery store. As they are already cooked, I just mashed them with a fork before placing them in my dish. A little bit of chunkiness is good (so it's not like eating slop!). I know the recipe instructs you to take it out when the potatoes are tender - I judge it more by when the top is golden. This recipe definitely is best if its allowed to cool a bit or even at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I get requests for this every year at Thanksgiving. I don't even like sweet potato, but this stuff is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gisel5296

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I have made this several times for various functions and everyone ALWAYS enjoys this! I omit the coconut and cornflakes and reduce the amount of margarine called for (I actually use butter instead). The last time I made this it was a little more runny than usual, but delicious anyways. I will continue to make this delicious casserole! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is fabulous. Even though I can't get the right consistency (I end up making a smaller portion and have to try to downsize the potatoes), made it twice, it is still delicious! It is very sweet, much like a dessert at dinner, and much like a pecan pie taste, but still delicious! I have not used the cornflakes or coconut and don't know how that adds to it. Its pretty hard to mess this up. I'm no great cook, but this is easy. I boil my sweet potatoes for a long time until they are so soft the outside just peels right off, mash them somewhat, then mix it all together and bake it for much longer than it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This will be the 4th year I have used this recipe. The only thing I would change is the amount of butter...but other than than it is perfect. Every year someones makes a comment about this recipe and even my mom-in-law gets a little upset because she brings regular sweet potatoes (which are wonderful) but family raves about this sweet potatoeo casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was everyone's favorite dish during Thanksgiving. Don't bother making a pumpkin pie, this will take the place and be loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JVRocks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This turned out really well and was a big hit at our Thanksgiving this year. I'd never made sweet potato casserole before or really had it, so I wasn't quite sure how it was supposed to turn out, but everyone seemed to really enjoy it. I bought raw sweet potatoes and then read the reviews about confusion about the whole mashing of the potatoes, so I wasn't really sure what to do. I decided to boil the potatoes for 20 minutes but that didn't seem to help their hardness level much. I didn't have a lot of time to be worrying about them, though, since I had a lot of things to do, so I just decided to go ahead and throw everything into the pan and put it in the oven. I then came back every now and then and tried mashing them and mixing everything together with a fork(sorry I'm not sure how long it took for them to get soft, but it did take awhile). When they were finally mash-able, I mixed everything around and then tossed the final marshmallows on top...and the final result was great! Next time I plan to just throw everything in at once to begin with because it doesn't seem that the boiling did much. I think cooking the casserole this way made it taste really good because the potatoes got to cook in the sugar and since I didn't mash them as much as I probably would have if they were soft to begin with, the final consistency was really nice with some soft chunks of potatoes mixed throughout. It will probably just take however long it takes to bake sweet potatoes normally (which I'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States