Charline's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I had some technical issues with this recipe, because I was cooking about 5 things at one time and forgot to add the marshmallows prior to putting it in the oven. I cooked mine in a 3 quart round casserole dish - big mistake, it took forever to cook. Use a 9x13 dish as suggested. Also it was extremely sweet for my taste, so I'll cut out a cup of sugar next time - because the 2 cups of marshmallows really sweetens it up. I loved the soufflé like texture, it was a big hit and had no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elubrano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great recipe, its important when using fresh sweet potatoes, to cook them for 40 minutes first, allow to cool, and then peel and mash. I'm guessing the above recipe is for canned potatoes already pre-cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe was awesome! I made it for th Newberg Fire Department family Thanksgiving and I was told it was so good it should have been on the dessert table! I followed some other reviews and boiled the potatoes before I mashed them, and used less sugar and butter. My husband and I don't like sweet potatoes, but thanks to this recipe we will be eating sweet potatoes every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I liked this recipe a lot, but it was way too sweet. I think I won't include the marshmallows next time, or I'll pile them on top of the crusty topping. I hardly put any sugar in the sweet potatoes, but threw in a can of crushed pineapple for some flavor and sweetness. I used crushed whole grain cereal instead of cornflakes, and a lot less butter (with a bit of pineapple juice added for moisture). They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Thought I would try something different than the usual basted w/butter and brown sugar til it candied. Everyone says ok, but wasn't sweet enough and the potato itself was kinda bland. Maybe all the eggs and other ingredients took away the natural flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
OH, this was soooo good. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
very good. A little sweet but that's the way I like it. The topping was fantastic! Everyone loved it at Thanksgiving dinner. Even those who don't like sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
First let me say that i did not do this recipe's topping, because at the last minute i realized i didnt have corn flakes. But, the filling was so delicious. I used 4 fresh sweet potatoes cooked and mashed them, which may have been more than 4 cups. I did not use the coconut, and instead of mixing the marshmallows in it, I sprinkled them on top of my pecan topping. I baked for 40 minutes at 325 since that was the temp for my turkey. Very delicous, and I think not too sweet as others stated, but everyone has their own preference. I will definitely make this again, and hopefully next time with the corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudMommyof2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! The taste of the sweet potatos are very filling and delicious. Definately recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I pulled out my Thanksgiving favorites and realized I printed this out in 2001! We love it.. Thanks Charline
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elleque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States