Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I followed the directions Impish gave in the Oct. 1, 2006 review, adding the cumin and paprika after the roast was shredded and returned to the slow cooker. I omitted the bottle of hot sauce for fear I wouldn't be able to eat it. Glad I did. My husband added more at the table. We ate this in tortillas with lettuce, cheese, and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I did not make any changes to the recipe. It was very tasty and not too spicy. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I've used this recipe many times. It's fail-proof and guaranteed to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This was awesome!! Just made it today, and the taste was excellent. Cooked it just the way the way the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJ1973

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I couldn't think of any reason NOT to give this recipe 5 stars. It turned out great!! I made it REALLY SIMPLE for myself since I'm a marginal cook at best and my husband is a VERY PICKY eater. This is what I did: I used a 2 lb. roast, I did NOT brown it 1st on the stove. I just put it in the crockpot (after cutting off the fat) with: 1 tsp Salt, 1 tsp Pepper, 1 cup diced green chiles, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp cayenne, 1 tsp garlic powder, I didn't use the full 5oz jar of Tapatio, but I used about 3 oz (cuz my bottle wasn't full.) I used 1 TBSP Cumin, instead of water I used about 1/2 can beef broth, and 1/2 bottle beer, and I threw in 1 beef bouillion cube just for fun. I cooked it on high for about 5 hrs until it was shreddable, then I just shredded it right in the crockpot (why get more dishes dirty, taking it out & putting it back?) after it was shredded I let it cook on low for about another hour so all of the juices would soak in the meat and that's it! It was soooooo ez, just throw all of the ingredients in at once & GO! My husband loved it and we had left overs the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
As written, this recipe is just "okay". I went by the recipe exactly, with the exception of substituting beef broth for water. After 6 hours in the crockpot on high, the beef was extremely tender and very easy to shred. However, I tasted the sauce and it seems to be a lot of heat with minimal flavor. (I used my favorite hot sauce- Tapatio). My boyfriend and I LOVE spicy food, but the flavor just wasn't what I expected. To make this dish a 5 star recipe, after I shredded and set aside the beef, I removed about 1/3 cup of the cooking liquid and replaced it with more beef broth. Then, I added about 2 teaspoons of chopped fresh garlic, 2 teaspoons of cumin, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1 1/2 teaspoons of onion powder, 1/2-1 teaspoon of chili powder, 3 bay leaves, 1/2 teaspoon of dried oregano, and 1/4-1/2 teaspoon dried mustard. (Please note that I didn't really "measure" these spices, I eyeballed them, but these are estimates.) I know this sounds like a lot, but at this point I was determined to get the flavor I was looking for, and I had these handy spices in my cabinet. After adding these spices to the liquid, I added the shredded beef and cooked on high for one hour and low for another hour. After these changes, this beef was EXCELLENT! My hispanic boyfriend said these were the best tacos he's ever had (that's a HUGE compliment from him). So, this recipe is a decent base but I needed to add more layers of flavor and depth to it to make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Perfect amount of spice & seasoning. Used to make tamales & they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I would rate this recipe 10 stars if I could. I made it twice in three days. I used this inside tamales, they were great. The first time, I cut the roast into big chunks and cooked it that way. Turned out juicier. After the meat was shredded, I put it back in the slow cooker with all of the juices. You can extra paprika and cumin then. This is an easy and excellent recipe. Great with pico de gallo and tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Oh my gosh! I made this recipe using a 4lb pork roast and it was amazing! I didn't brown it, I just threw it right into the crockpot. I combined all the other ingredients in a bowl, then poured it over the pork. I left it on low for 10hrs. It took me literally one minute to shred all of it- I just pressed on it with my fork and it fell apart. I then dumped all the shredded pork and all the liquid into a large pot and cooked it on medium/high until all the liquid was evaporated...about 20min, making sure to stir occasionally. We made pork soft tacos with freshly made pico de gallo and guacamole. My whole family gave it rave reviews and I keep getting into the leftover pork to eat it straight from the bowl! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I tried this recipe for a second time recently, and I'm very pleased with how it came out. It is necessary to adjust the heat to your taste, like the author says. I used one small can of mild diced green chilies and most of a small can of chipotle chilies in adobo sauce to give the dish a smoky flavor, plus a beef bullion cube and a dash of cumin as a few other reviewers suggested. I used a few splashes of chipotle hot sauce and left out the chili powder and cayenne completely. I would say mine was "medium" spicy...it had a kick but was not too hot. I cooked the meat for about 5 hours, and it was very easy to pull apart and very tender. The only thing I don't like about the dish is the excess liquid, but that's kind of a requirement to get a tender meat....I just need a better slotted spoon! It makes an amazing taco meat with corn tortillas, lots of cilantro, lime, and lettuce. I expect it to become part of my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nereidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Traditional Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers, made in a slo

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States