Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is definitely a recipe that I will be permanently adding to my cook book! I followed the recipe as is except did not add onion (sadly my boyfriend hates onion) and added Serrano chiles on top of all the spice! We are Hispanic and this recipe needed more spice for us! Great recipe! I put it on corn tortillas with a side of rice! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is the best shredded beef I think I've ever had! I did what others had suggested - I used beef stock, used jalapeño peppers and reduced it to 1/2 cup, removed and shredded the meat after 5 hours, then returned to pot with 2 cups of liquid mixture. I had to remove fat from liquid since I used a fattier cut of meat, but it worked fine. I added the cumin & paprika when i shredded meat. I used a hot sauce I had in the cupboard in place of the hot pepper sauce. Then I put it in a fry pan and cooked on medium heat till liquid was gone. The flavor is incredible. I heated corn tortillas, filled with meat and put salsa and sour cream on it - I was tempted to eat 10 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Excellent! Perfect for tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Absolutely the best roast for tostados. I take the meat out of the crock pot and then pan fry it with some of juices and squeeze lime and its the most amazing meat.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffiepo
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I love spicy food, but I knew the ingredients would be overkill for my family. I left out the peppers and cayenne pepper. I added a little more water, and, after cooking everything as directed with the ingredients I left out, I took the meat out, shredded it, and gradually added some of the liquid until it was the way I wanted it. The way I made it was enough heat for us. I didn't think it was over the top, but I think my issue may be with the meat cut. My husband and I both had this desire to put BBQ sauce on it and have no idea why. Maybe I'll try it since we were both considering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
YUMM-O!!! used carne asada, cut alil on hot sauce but doubled everything else since I used 3lbs. Added a steak brown sauce marinade and lemon juice! Smelled up the house which made us even more hungry than what we were and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. Wonderful spiciness and plenty of leftovers to freeze. I will be adding this to my cooking rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I have tried this recipe 3 times. I absolutely love it!! I love spicy/hot food. This recipe is perfect and easy for me to prepare. I put together meat & cheese burritos and then I freeze them. Small frozen burritos take 2 1/2 min in microwave and large frozen burritos take 3 minutes. I too, am very addicted to the meat. Oh by the way, meat is really moist. Not dry like a lot of restaurants. My EASY Hot Spicy Salsa: First: Put all ingredients in a blender. Second: Add 1 (13/14 oz) can of diced tomatoes, 4 medium/large Jalapeños, 2 cloves of garlic, slightly squeeze 1 lemon, add chicken broth to thin out (not too much), and finally add sea salt. I like a lot of salt, so I probably add at least 2 teaspoons. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Love this easy recipe! I have made this several times now, each a little different. I use beef broth for the liquid as others suggested and have used both fresh jalepenos and canned diced green chilies depending on what I have on hand- both work great. The spice factor is just right for the grown-ups in the house, but may want to dial it down for the kiddos. Once the meat is done, I do remove some of the liquid and boil it down on the stove then add it back in. I also add about 1/2 cup of favorite BBQ sauce for a little sweetness at the end. Makes great burritos and tacos, and we love the leftovers! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I just didn't like this recipe. I tried to incorporate some of the changes, but even then it was not to my liking. I don't like it when viewers change the recipe so much and then give it a 5 star rating. This recipe in my opinion is a two star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjwhee29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 764) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States