Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I have to say, this recipe was really tasty. Unfortunately my husband & daughter weren't able to eat it because it was way too spicy for them. I do love spicy & hot foods but it also was a little too hot for me to fully enjoy. So I added a small am punt of sugar to tame down the spice & it worked. With the remaining meat I had I made tacos with for lunch with some sour cream , cheese, tomato & avocado which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I feel as though all the flavor stays with the onion, pepper, juice mixture. So if you remove the meat prior to fork shredding it, the flavor just won't get into the meat. Therefore, I recommend you shredd the meat a half an hour or so prior to removing it from the cooker. That way, the flavor gets well distributed in the meat. I was also concerned it would be too spicy with 5oz. of Hot Sauce. I used a combo of both red & green Tobasco and it turned out pretty good. This recipe is one you can tinker with to find what you enjoy. But the fundamental ingredients & cooking process is spot on!! I ain't done experimenting with it... Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monterrapin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was so simple yet amazing! My husband and I are addicted to this. I made some changes after reading some of the reviews. I didn't have chili powder on hand, so I just omitted it completely. I added 1 tsp each of cumin and smoked paprika in addition to what the recipe calls for. I only minced up two serrano peppers and 1 jalapeno, which I'm pretty sure did not come out to 1 1/2 cups that the recipe calls for. I used about 2oz of Tapatio instead of 5oz because I was afraid my meat would have a vinegary taste. I did not brown the meat prior to putting it in the crock pot. I rubbed the spice mixture all over the meat, topped with the minced peppers and Tapatio and used a beef bouillon cube like other users have suggested. I cooked the roast on high for 4 hours, shredded it with two forks then continued cooking for an additional 2 hours on low. The insides of the meat absorbed the broth and spices and the end result was some very flavorful (and spicy!) shredded beef. It reminded me of Chipotle's barbacoa, only 100 times better. And I don't even like their barbacoa! I'll be making this again and again, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Super Easy to make and the house smelled amazing! Cooked it overnight like others have done and literally woke my hubby up with hunger pains at midnight! lol It made the best breakfast~scrambled in eggs, peppers and onions, we then topped it off with fresh tomatoes and shredded lettuce! It makes a ton of meat, so plan a party and share!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I used a trimmed beef brisket. Skipped the browning step. Just put the meat directly into the crockpot and followed the rest of the directions. Added some cumin and a beef boullion cube, and used half the hot pepper sauce the recipe called for. Cooked on high for 6 hours, removed, shredded with two forks, and placed back in for another 2 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Made this today but used chicken and it was wonderful! Husband loved it! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I added some lime juice to taste after I shredded and pulled apart and placed in warm corn tortillas with a side of either homemade mango salsa or pico de gallo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My husband doesn't like "spicy" food so I was nervous to make this recipe. But when the author of the recipe stated that you can adjust the "heat" to your liking, I took the chance. It was a big hit! I did everything as directed except for the hot stuff. I cut it down by about 2/3rds of what it should be. It had plenty of flavor and wasn't hot at all. I may try to "heat it up" a bit next time because I do enjoy my food a little spicy. Thanks for this amazing recipe!! I will definitely make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Thought it might be too spicy (I used Tabasco for the hot pepper sauce), but when we used it to make tacos it was delicious with Queso Fresco and Crema Mexicana. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Easy. Actually cooked for roughly 12 hours in crock pot. Came out extremely tender and pulled apart. Was a bit spicy for the kids, but adults loved it. Just right amount of heat. Put on top of Lime Cilantro Rice. Very good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eyota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 742) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States