Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Love this easy recipe! I have made this several times now, each a little different. I use beef broth for the liquid as others suggested and have used both fresh jalepenos and canned diced green chilies depending on what I have on hand- both work great. The spice factor is just right for the grown-ups in the house, but may want to dial it down for the kiddos. Once the meat is done, I do remove some of the liquid and boil it down on the stove then add it back in. I also add about 1/2 cup of favorite BBQ sauce for a little sweetness at the end. Makes great burritos and tacos, and we love the leftovers! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I just didn't like this recipe. I tried to incorporate some of the changes, but even then it was not to my liking. I don't like it when viewers change the recipe so much and then give it a 5 star rating. This recipe in my opinion is a two star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjwhee29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Way too spicy hot. Is there a mistake in the recipe? It calls for a 5 oz bottle of hot sauce. I only used half the bottle and I couldn't believe how hot it was. I had to add brown sugar and catsup just to calm it down. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I have made this recipe with both pork & beef. It is quick to prep, easy and delicious. Great for a crowd. Easy recipe to double. This recipe freezes great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I have to say, this recipe was really tasty. Unfortunately my husband & daughter weren't able to eat it because it was way too spicy for them. I do love spicy & hot foods but it also was a little too hot for me to fully enjoy. So I added a small am punt of sugar to tame down the spice & it worked. With the remaining meat I had I made tacos with for lunch with some sour cream , cheese, tomato & avocado which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I feel as though all the flavor stays with the onion, pepper, juice mixture. So if you remove the meat prior to fork shredding it, the flavor just won't get into the meat. Therefore, I recommend you shredd the meat a half an hour or so prior to removing it from the cooker. That way, the flavor gets well distributed in the meat. I was also concerned it would be too spicy with 5oz. of Hot Sauce. I used a combo of both red & green Tobasco and it turned out pretty good. This recipe is one you can tinker with to find what you enjoy. But the fundamental ingredients & cooking process is spot on!! I ain't done experimenting with it... Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monterrapin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was so simple yet amazing! My husband and I are addicted to this. I made some changes after reading some of the reviews. I didn't have chili powder on hand, so I just omitted it completely. I added 1 tsp each of cumin and smoked paprika in addition to what the recipe calls for. I only minced up two serrano peppers and 1 jalapeno, which I'm pretty sure did not come out to 1 1/2 cups that the recipe calls for. I used about 2oz of Tapatio instead of 5oz because I was afraid my meat would have a vinegary taste. I did not brown the meat prior to putting it in the crock pot. I rubbed the spice mixture all over the meat, topped with the minced peppers and Tapatio and used a beef bouillon cube like other users have suggested. I cooked the roast on high for 4 hours, shredded it with two forks then continued cooking for an additional 2 hours on low. The insides of the meat absorbed the broth and spices and the end result was some very flavorful (and spicy!) shredded beef. It reminded me of Chipotle's barbacoa, only 100 times better. And I don't even like their barbacoa! I'll be making this again and again, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Super Easy to make and the house smelled amazing! Cooked it overnight like others have done and literally woke my hubby up with hunger pains at midnight! lol It made the best breakfast~scrambled in eggs, peppers and onions, we then topped it off with fresh tomatoes and shredded lettuce! It makes a ton of meat, so plan a party and share!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I used a trimmed beef brisket. Skipped the browning step. Just put the meat directly into the crockpot and followed the rest of the directions. Added some cumin and a beef boullion cube, and used half the hot pepper sauce the recipe called for. Cooked on high for 6 hours, removed, shredded with two forks, and placed back in for another 2 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Made this today but used chicken and it was wonderful! Husband loved it! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Traditional Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers, made in a slo

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States