Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Great easy recipe! I used Dave's Insanity Sauce for the hot sauce it turned out a little too hot for me! Next time I will just use tabasco. I used Venison and Moose and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This tastes just like restaraunt shreded beef, SO GOOD!!! You can make tacos, encheladas, cimmies, nachos, ect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrenabee
Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Omg, this turned out soooo good. I used the suggestions of Impish (thank you!) minus the jalapeno cause it might have been too spicy for my children and only half a bottle of Chalula's hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenaSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, California, USA
Living In: Newman, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The meat came out completely flavourless despite adding a ton of spice and hot sauce! And I did shred in between and leave in the cooker for an additional 2 hrs. I do think the big mistake I made was that I forgot to trim the excess fat off my roast, so it was kind of swimming in a lot of oil by the time it was done, maybe that's what stopped the flavours from absorbing? The meat was also really tough (I used a pot roast since it was on sale) I really wanted to like this recipe, because it actually smelled amazing. Maybe I'll try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was super yummy. Beware, though, it is definitely spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
FABULOUS,FABULOUS!! I'm Mexican and this recipe is incredible. The only thing I added was Cumin. We tend to use that spice a lot. EVERYONE who tries this loves it and ALWAYS want me to make it. The longer it cooks the better. I make breakfast burritos the next day using this meat with scrambled eggs, potato's, and cheese. The juice along with the burrito is amazing!! Thank you CHARLEY357
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is definitely a recipe that I will be permanently adding to my cook book! I followed the recipe as is except did not add onion (sadly my boyfriend hates onion) and added Serrano chiles on top of all the spice! We are Hispanic and this recipe needed more spice for us! Great recipe! I put it on corn tortillas with a side of rice! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is the best shredded beef I think I've ever had! I did what others had suggested - I used beef stock, used jalapeño peppers and reduced it to 1/2 cup, removed and shredded the meat after 5 hours, then returned to pot with 2 cups of liquid mixture. I had to remove fat from liquid since I used a fattier cut of meat, but it worked fine. I added the cumin & paprika when i shredded meat. I used a hot sauce I had in the cupboard in place of the hot pepper sauce. Then I put it in a fry pan and cooked on medium heat till liquid was gone. The flavor is incredible. I heated corn tortillas, filled with meat and put salsa and sour cream on it - I was tempted to eat 10 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Excellent! Perfect for tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Absolutely the best roast for tostados. I take the meat out of the crock pot and then pan fry it with some of juices and squeeze lime and its the most amazing meat.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffiepo
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 750) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States