Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
YUMM-O!!! used carne asada, cut alil on hot sauce but doubled everything else since I used 3lbs. Added a steak brown sauce marinade and lemon juice! Smelled up the house which made us even more hungry than what we were and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. Wonderful spiciness and plenty of leftovers to freeze. I will be adding this to my cooking rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I have tried this recipe 3 times. I absolutely love it!! I love spicy/hot food. This recipe is perfect and easy for me to prepare. I put together meat & cheese burritos and then I freeze them. Small frozen burritos take 2 1/2 min in microwave and large frozen burritos take 3 minutes. I too, am very addicted to the meat. Oh by the way, meat is really moist. Not dry like a lot of restaurants. My EASY Hot Spicy Salsa: First: Put all ingredients in a blender. Second: Add 1 (13/14 oz) can of diced tomatoes, 4 medium/large Jalapeños, 2 cloves of garlic, slightly squeeze 1 lemon, add chicken broth to thin out (not too much), and finally add sea salt. I like a lot of salt, so I probably add at least 2 teaspoons. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Love this easy recipe! I have made this several times now, each a little different. I use beef broth for the liquid as others suggested and have used both fresh jalepenos and canned diced green chilies depending on what I have on hand- both work great. The spice factor is just right for the grown-ups in the house, but may want to dial it down for the kiddos. Once the meat is done, I do remove some of the liquid and boil it down on the stove then add it back in. I also add about 1/2 cup of favorite BBQ sauce for a little sweetness at the end. Makes great burritos and tacos, and we love the leftovers! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I just didn't like this recipe. I tried to incorporate some of the changes, but even then it was not to my liking. I don't like it when viewers change the recipe so much and then give it a 5 star rating. This recipe in my opinion is a two star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjwhee29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Way too spicy hot. Is there a mistake in the recipe? It calls for a 5 oz bottle of hot sauce. I only used half the bottle and I couldn't believe how hot it was. I had to add brown sugar and catsup just to calm it down. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I have made this recipe with both pork & beef. It is quick to prep, easy and delicious. Great for a crowd. Easy recipe to double. This recipe freezes great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I have to say, this recipe was really tasty. Unfortunately my husband & daughter weren't able to eat it because it was way too spicy for them. I do love spicy & hot foods but it also was a little too hot for me to fully enjoy. So I added a small am punt of sugar to tame down the spice & it worked. With the remaining meat I had I made tacos with for lunch with some sour cream , cheese, tomato & avocado which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I feel as though all the flavor stays with the onion, pepper, juice mixture. So if you remove the meat prior to fork shredding it, the flavor just won't get into the meat. Therefore, I recommend you shredd the meat a half an hour or so prior to removing it from the cooker. That way, the flavor gets well distributed in the meat. I was also concerned it would be too spicy with 5oz. of Hot Sauce. I used a combo of both red & green Tobasco and it turned out pretty good. This recipe is one you can tinker with to find what you enjoy. But the fundamental ingredients & cooking process is spot on!! I ain't done experimenting with it... Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monterrapin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was so simple yet amazing! My husband and I are addicted to this. I made some changes after reading some of the reviews. I didn't have chili powder on hand, so I just omitted it completely. I added 1 tsp each of cumin and smoked paprika in addition to what the recipe calls for. I only minced up two serrano peppers and 1 jalapeno, which I'm pretty sure did not come out to 1 1/2 cups that the recipe calls for. I used about 2oz of Tapatio instead of 5oz because I was afraid my meat would have a vinegary taste. I did not brown the meat prior to putting it in the crock pot. I rubbed the spice mixture all over the meat, topped with the minced peppers and Tapatio and used a beef bouillon cube like other users have suggested. I cooked the roast on high for 4 hours, shredded it with two forks then continued cooking for an additional 2 hours on low. The insides of the meat absorbed the broth and spices and the end result was some very flavorful (and spicy!) shredded beef. It reminded me of Chipotle's barbacoa, only 100 times better. And I don't even like their barbacoa! I'll be making this again and again, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States