Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is a awesome recipe!!! My family loves it'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this one snowy day. It was wonderful. I followed advice from a couple of different people. I cut the roast into smaller hunks of meat. Lightly browned those. Then crock pot all day. Shredded meat and "browned" again on stove in skillet, didn't need extra liquid as it was already juicy enough. This made enough for 2 plus meals for our family of four. I froze leftovers and was able to use the meat to make enchiladas last night. VERY good and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Fantastic!!! So easy and the flavor is outstanding. Always looking for slow cooker recipes that don't cook the flavor out of the dish and this one does not! Will be a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Sad to say I was excited to try this, but after making it today, I'm disappointed. I'm not very experienced making Mexican food, but figured it couldn't be TOO hard. It calls for 1 1/4 c. green chile peppers. I wanted to be sure I got the right kind of peppers so I googled it & it turns out there are several chile peppers that are green. One reviewer used jalapenos. I learned the smaller the pepper the hotter it will be. Didn't want it TOO hot (I have smaller kids) so I bought 1 jalapeno & 1 larger green pepper that was simply labeled 'chile pepper.' The seeds & membranes inside are the hottest parts, so I threw that out. Both peppers came to 1/2cup total. Only used 1/2 the dry seasoning & onion. Used Tapatio hot pepper sauce, only 1-2 of the 5oz. Used a beef bullion cube as suggested. I figured cutting everything hot in half would drastically reduce the hotness. It was tender but, had no real flavor. After it was done I realized there was a video how to make this recipe. In it they say to use CANNED chile peppers. Maybe using fresh peppers caused this to turn out so badly? If that's the case they need to edit the ingredients & specify the green chiles are canned, NOT fresh.:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carressa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I used half venison, and half beef..it was fantastic, and had an authentic Mexican taste. I bypassed the frying pan which I always do when using a slow cooker but still used the oil. I feel the meat is more tender and all of the juices from the meat make everything taste and cook better. Other than that i followed the recipe. It will be hard to make regular taco seasoning again for Mexican night at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
It was awesome! My husband is the meat cooker in the family, but he raved about this recipe. I will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alba, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Great easy recipe! I used Dave's Insanity Sauce for the hot sauce it turned out a little too hot for me! Next time I will just use tabasco. I used Venison and Moose and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This tastes just like restaraunt shreded beef, SO GOOD!!! You can make tacos, encheladas, cimmies, nachos, ect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrenabee
Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Omg, this turned out soooo good. I used the suggestions of Impish (thank you!) minus the jalapeno cause it might have been too spicy for my children and only half a bottle of Chalula's hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenaSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, California, USA
Living In: Newman, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The meat came out completely flavourless despite adding a ton of spice and hot sauce! And I did shred in between and leave in the cooker for an additional 2 hrs. I do think the big mistake I made was that I forgot to trim the excess fat off my roast, so it was kind of swimming in a lot of oil by the time it was done, maybe that's what stopped the flavours from absorbing? The meat was also really tough (I used a pot roast since it was on sale) I really wanted to like this recipe, because it actually smelled amazing. Maybe I'll try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Traditional Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers, made in a slo

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States