Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Recipe is a good foundation for shredded pork. Adding the whole bottle of hot sauce made the meat to tangy for me. I would add half instead of all of it and you really do have to adjust the chile added to recipe. I added cumin because I like that flavor. Meat did come out tender. I also would only use 2 pounds instead of 4 pounds for a family of three. Not sure how spicy you want this add a little bit at a time. Half then adjust half way through cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonita Roberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
After cutting the cayenne and bottled hot sauce in half, it was still on fire. I used 3 jalapenos, de-seeded and Tapatio hot sauce. Thank goodness I made this a day ahead. Trying to salvage this meat, I removed it from the original crock pot liquid and made up a fresh batch of water and beef broth. Poured over it and let set overnight. Took away most of the heat so that we were able to use it in the tacos I'd intended it for. It's a shame because I think it had potential but will need to find other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
We make this quite often and it turns out perfect every time. We don't think it's to spicy, the flavors are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Easy to make and flavorful. I added cumin, a beef bouillon cube, and diced green chilies to the mix. Found the spiciness to be tasty. I used Cholula hot sauce and liked it, but I kind of selected it on a whim and may experiment with some other brands in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I give this 5 stars minus the hot sauce. I knew my kids pallets couldn't handle it, so I left it out. This allowed the other flavors in the meat to stand out. I cooked 5 lbs of meat for just 4 hours on high and it was easily done - over 200 degrees in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Delicious! Full of flavor and YES it is SPICY! With a cup and a half of chilies, I hope to kiss a Wild Goose it IS!! PEOPLE, that's the Point! You wouldn't blindly jump off a cliff w/o Knowing what's down there, don't do it with food! THINK BEFORE you make it and ask yourself, do you Want REALLY hot food! THEN jump or stay on solid, boring ground;)) You can always add more chilies or hot sauce later but once its too HOT, hard to unwind that clock. BTW, my family n I love jumping into a pot of this meat! Sour cream/ guacamole is a good way to bring that heat under control.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I have to agree with the other reviewers that say it's missing something. I only had a 2.5 pound roast, but I left the ingredient amounts the same, with the exception of the hot sauce. I only used about 2 ounces of that, but then added a diced jalapeno and cayenne pepper from my garden. I threw in some minced garlic on top of the garlic powder and added cumin. In the end, there's just a complexity of flavor that's missing. But, if you use the onions from the crock pot in with the meat while making burritos, it's pretty good. I just wish I could put my finger on what that other flavor component needs to be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
We love this! It is on my regular rotation. I follow the recipe exactly and it is quite spicy. If you don't like the heat dial back on the red pepper and the hot sauce. Be sure to finish in the fry pan as it makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe last week-end when family came from out of town. They all LOVED it. It was flavorful and delicious. I did make the add a pkg. of mushroom gravy mix to the liquid and then put all the meat back into the slow cooker. It was all eaten up and the wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Super spicy but OH SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 778) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States