Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I used half venison, and half beef..it was fantastic, and had an authentic Mexican taste. I bypassed the frying pan which I always do when using a slow cooker but still used the oil. I feel the meat is more tender and all of the juices from the meat make everything taste and cook better. Other than that i followed the recipe. It will be hard to make regular taco seasoning again for Mexican night at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
It was awesome! My husband is the meat cooker in the family, but he raved about this recipe. I will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alba, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Great easy recipe! I used Dave's Insanity Sauce for the hot sauce it turned out a little too hot for me! Next time I will just use tabasco. I used Venison and Moose and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This tastes just like restaraunt shreded beef, SO GOOD!!! You can make tacos, encheladas, cimmies, nachos, ect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrenabee
Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Omg, this turned out soooo good. I used the suggestions of Impish (thank you!) minus the jalapeno cause it might have been too spicy for my children and only half a bottle of Chalula's hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenaSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, California, USA
Living In: Newman, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The meat came out completely flavourless despite adding a ton of spice and hot sauce! And I did shred in between and leave in the cooker for an additional 2 hrs. I do think the big mistake I made was that I forgot to trim the excess fat off my roast, so it was kind of swimming in a lot of oil by the time it was done, maybe that's what stopped the flavours from absorbing? The meat was also really tough (I used a pot roast since it was on sale) I really wanted to like this recipe, because it actually smelled amazing. Maybe I'll try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was super yummy. Beware, though, it is definitely spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
FABULOUS,FABULOUS!! I'm Mexican and this recipe is incredible. The only thing I added was Cumin. We tend to use that spice a lot. EVERYONE who tries this loves it and ALWAYS want me to make it. The longer it cooks the better. I make breakfast burritos the next day using this meat with scrambled eggs, potato's, and cheese. The juice along with the burrito is amazing!! Thank you CHARLEY357
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is definitely a recipe that I will be permanently adding to my cook book! I followed the recipe as is except did not add onion (sadly my boyfriend hates onion) and added Serrano chiles on top of all the spice! We are Hispanic and this recipe needed more spice for us! Great recipe! I put it on corn tortillas with a side of rice! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is the best shredded beef I think I've ever had! I did what others had suggested - I used beef stock, used jalapeño peppers and reduced it to 1/2 cup, removed and shredded the meat after 5 hours, then returned to pot with 2 cups of liquid mixture. I had to remove fat from liquid since I used a fattier cut of meat, but it worked fine. I added the cumin & paprika when i shredded meat. I used a hot sauce I had in the cupboard in place of the hot pepper sauce. Then I put it in a fry pan and cooked on medium heat till liquid was gone. The flavor is incredible. I heated corn tortillas, filled with meat and put salsa and sour cream on it - I was tempted to eat 10 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States