Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
i use a high quality chuck roast, other roasts or meats work fine to. sear your meat if you wish, place in crock pot then add all your seasonings, also add a few pepper corns,1 bay leaf, and 1 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika (more or less) 1 or 2 bottles of modello, or corona.. (but first heres the trick if you have access to a mexican market, go there and pick yourself up 2 or 3 varieties of fresh mexican peppers any colors, then find the cascabel, its in the mexican spice section) then add chopped or whole peppers and whole cascabell 2 is fine (there is no need to chop up your fresh peppers seeing is your just using them for flavor,cutting them up exposes the seeds and makes it hotter especially if you plan on returning the meat to the liquid) add your hot pepper sauce if you wish, but it probably wont do much as far as meat flavor, cook 6 to 8 hrs. low. i then strain off the liquid, and pour some over the shredded meat in a shallow dish, ... enjoy, and Happy Cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This recipe is fantastic!! Soooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Very good! I left out the cayenne pepper and just poured some hot pepper sauce on top since I have two little ones who don't like spicy foods. I didn't brown it in a pan beforehand, just cooked it on low for 8 hours. So tender and flavorful. We made soft tacos with the meat....homemade guacamole, lettuce, cheese, and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I have to agree with those who said this dish is about heat rather than flavor. Following the cooking instructions resulted in a well cooked roast...it pulled apart really well, etc. but there was really no depth of flavor. I had to put the meat into a skillet with some of the liquid and add a bunch of taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I dont eat red meat so I have only my hubbys opinion to go by, but he really liked this dish...had it for dinner and then again for lunch the next day. Will probably make this again, and I want to try it with chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My husband made this with a (locally-raised) Black Angus chuck roast, low sodium beef broth, 2 cans diced green chilies, roasted garlic, several 'splashes' of hot sauce, smoked paprika and put a smoked habanero on top. It smelled amazing and he, his friends and co-workers LOVED it (I don't eat meat). It'll be a game-day staple right next to my meatless stout chili :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I just made this a couple days ago and it was great! Had to adjust the spice because we don't like it too spicy, but still like some kick. Be careful not to add too much water, I think I did it came out a little soupy. So I took a reviewers suggestion and saute'ed it in a pan before making my enchilada's worked out perfectly. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is outta sight made into enchiladas! I didn't use bottled hot sauce (both DH and I are wimps when it comes to real spicy foods), but did add some cumin and onion powder. Yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was pretty good. I used 3 jalepenos (not seeded) in place of the green chile pepper and it still wasn't that spicey. Not sure I'll make it again but it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
omg this is awesome. its worth the wait. omg i made burritos with this meat and best spanish rice from this website and refried beans and cheese. im eating it now and its soooooooooooooooo GOOOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States