Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is a delicious recipe that yields tender, flavorful meat. I didn't use the whole bottle of hot sauce since hubby doesn't like things too vinegary and probably used 10 dashes of Louisiana hot sauce. I also added cumin because I love the flavor of cumin. We used the meat to make quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Fantastic. I did cut the hot sauce down to 3oz but I didn't find it to hot. I probably could have got away with a little more. I did throw in 1 1/2 chipotle pepper, just because I love it. I used the leftover broth to make rice and black beans. Now there I felt a little heat. Next time I may score the meat a bot to get the spices more evenly through the meat. I also had a lot of broth and room in my crock pot, so I also threw in 3 boneless breast that made some excellent enchiladas :). I took the chicken out a lot sooner. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I hate when people do this, because its hard to "rate" a recipe that I didn't make exactly. But I used this as a base. Im a teacher, and if I have time to put food on, I don't have time to mess with it. That said, I've made this multiple times and its great (my way). I have never browned the meat--turns out fine. I use a 8-12 oz jar of medium salsa instead of hot sauce, and a can of diced green chiles instead of what it calls for. Sometimes I add the seasoning, sometimes not. If I don't have pre-chopped garlic that I add, I at least add salt, pepper and garlic powder. Tastes great either way. I actually add a bell pepper into the mix, and chop it with the onion and put half of each under the roast, and the remaining half on top. Dump the chiles over that on top, and then the salsa all on top of the meat. Add a little water or stock if you're like me and this is gonna have to cook for 10-12 hours. Shred and serve, it is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Family loved it! Need to plan since it takes all day to cook- but worth it! Added some smokey chipotle Tabasco sauce to give it a smokey flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Didn't follow the recipe exactly -- used eye of round roast -- but had great success. I wasn't sure about using an entire 5oz bottle of hot sauce, but it meant that every bite was infused with flavor. My family loves spicy foods, and this was a big hit with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this recipe 3x now. We are chili heads so I made sure that everything was hot in the spice area like hot green chili. Since it is just the two of us, I freeze a good portion of this and it freezes beautifully. I make homemade tortillas from this site and we eat a lot of this with avocado cheese and chopped up jalapeños.I did find that putting the meat back into the crockpot after shredding and cook it for another hour as some suggested adds to the flavor. If you like hotter food,Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is a awesome recipe!!! My family loves it'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made this one snowy day. It was wonderful. I followed advice from a couple of different people. I cut the roast into smaller hunks of meat. Lightly browned those. Then crock pot all day. Shredded meat and "browned" again on stove in skillet, didn't need extra liquid as it was already juicy enough. This made enough for 2 plus meals for our family of four. I froze leftovers and was able to use the meat to make enchiladas last night. VERY good and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Fantastic!!! So easy and the flavor is outstanding. Always looking for slow cooker recipes that don't cook the flavor out of the dish and this one does not! Will be a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Sad to say I was excited to try this, but after making it today, I'm disappointed. I'm not very experienced making Mexican food, but figured it couldn't be TOO hard. It calls for 1 1/4 c. green chile peppers. I wanted to be sure I got the right kind of peppers so I googled it & it turns out there are several chile peppers that are green. One reviewer used jalapenos. I learned the smaller the pepper the hotter it will be. Didn't want it TOO hot (I have smaller kids) so I bought 1 jalapeno & 1 larger green pepper that was simply labeled 'chile pepper.' The seeds & membranes inside are the hottest parts, so I threw that out. Both peppers came to 1/2cup total. Only used 1/2 the dry seasoning & onion. Used Tapatio hot pepper sauce, only 1-2 of the 5oz. Used a beef bullion cube as suggested. I figured cutting everything hot in half would drastically reduce the hotness. It was tender but, had no real flavor. After it was done I realized there was a video how to make this recipe. In it they say to use CANNED chile peppers. Maybe using fresh peppers caused this to turn out so badly? If that's the case they need to edit the ingredients & specify the green chiles are canned, NOT fresh.:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carressa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States