Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Well I didn't make the recipe as listed, I made adjustments according to the most popular review and it was AMAZING. Everyone that ate it raved about it and asked for the recipe. If you are going to stick with the recipe on the site, it is essential that once the meat is tender enough to be shredded, you shred it and then leave it in the crock pot for 1 1/2-2 hours more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandaz13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Extremely good! I put in a can of beef broth and some green pepper per others suggestions. I put it in the crockpot on low for about 7 hours while I was gone. Then I shredded the meat and put it on high for about 1/2 hour. We made tacos and burritos with it and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Granby, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was fabulous. I made a few alterations. First, due to timing issues, I cooked it on low for 9-10 hours then shredded it and kept it on warm for another hour (allowing me to leave it cooking while I was at work all day). I also used beer and some chicken stock for the liquid, though I added too much so had to boil some of it down while I was shredding the meat. Either way it was a huge hit at my cinco de mayo fiesta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmpark01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Mixed reviews from the family. My 7yr old took about four bites and told me to make sure I give this all the stars...lol - I didn't even realize he knew I rated the recipes! But my hubby was not a fan - just not his 'thing' he said. Me and my 9yr old liked it too. The flavor of the meat is perfect, not too hot for the kids either. We had a lot of liquid, but we chose to use a slotted spoon for the meat and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Schulte Kubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Very tasty! Using many of the recommendations here, I added sliced onions and peppers to bottom of crock pot then put roast on top. Seasoned it with Adobo seasoning, cumin, garlic powder, chili powder, cayenne pepper. Added 1 cup of beef broth, can of tomatoes with green chiles, and 1 can of green chiles. Finally, added 1/4 cup of Frank's Red Hot. I was worried about the heat but it was fine. I used a 5lb chuck roast and cooked on high for 7 hours, then shredded and returned to liquid-filled crock for another 90 minutes. That was key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I just tossed everything into the trusty crock pot all day. Added one large chopped up tomato towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
also..as one poster said..I sauteed fresh garlic with the onions and added some cumin and a can of Rotel. Delicious!...add some cilantro and you can use ground turkey and no one knows the difference!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was excellent! Reminds me of Chipotle's Barbacoa beef. I didn't have time to brown the meat first but I don't think it made a difference. Threw in some sliced onions and bell peppers which I had, along with one large can of mild green chillis. Was worried about the spice, so only used 2 ounces of Tapitio, which was just enough heat for my tastes (pretty weak). I only used a 2 pound chuck, so I halved all the spices and added a half teaspoon of cumin as well. Cooked on high for four hours, shredded and then back on low for 2.5 more. Delicious. Only thing I would have done different is trim the fat prior to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
awesome!!! whole family loved this and we made 3 dinners out of this one recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was delicious! I was afraid after reading some reviews that it would be too hot/spicy which i am not a fan of but it was great and i did make some adjustments. I did not add cayenne because i didn't have it on hand and i forgot to put in garlic. I added a can of beef broth for fear of it drying out and to prevent it from being too hot. This is a keeper, next time i will add the cayenne and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 753) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States