Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Very good:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
awesome, I don't recall the last time I enjoyed meat so much, can hardly wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Made this with a 2.5 lb roast as that was all I had but kept the spices the same. It really tasted great and was great on tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
No real rounded flavor. Very ?HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
When I made this recipe I left out the chili's and I added a cup of white wine and a splash of red wine to add some taste. It had a touch of Mexican flavor, but not hot (my wife does not like real spicy food). I added a little lime juice to the tacos and they were great. I also added a tablespoon of corn starch to the left over juice to thicken it up after shredding the meat. I used pork. It made for good left overrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Total waste of almost $16 worth of meat. Extremely tasteless. Now I need to figure out how to use all of the shredded beef I have left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written and found the spices to be way over the top. We couldn't taste the meat...only the spices. My wife wouldn't eat it. I'll try again adjusting all of the spices downward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This was not only the best thing I've ever made in a slow cooker, it is the best meat I've ever made too. I used an organic chuck roast (expensive, but worth it) that was a little over 4 lbs. I followed others' suggestions and did not bother with browning the meat. I just put it in the slow cooker and seasoned it there. I used 1 Anaheim chile, 1 Serrano, and 3 or 4 jalepenos. It was a bit on the spicy side, but I served it with rice and avocado, which cooled it down a bit. Next time I may use fewer chiles. I ended up cooking it for 9 1/2 hours on high because I was out in the evening and couldn't turn it down. When I got home, it shredded like a dream--virtually falling apart. I shredded the meat right in the slow cooker and then let it simmer for about an hour in the liquid with the lid off so it reduced a bit. This let all the meat absorb the flavors from the liquid. It was absolutely amazing! Thank you Charley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I am originally from San Diego, and truly miss the beach side taco shops! I agree with adding cumin. Try a bay leaf and a sprig of oregano! Also, all peppers work, I like pablano. Same texture as a green pepper, less spice than a jalepeno but a nice flavor! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 743) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States