Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Used franks red hot sauce but only 1/2 of the 5 oz bottle heat was perfect! Served in corn tortillas with tomatoes sour cream and lettuce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Absolutely Delicious! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Yes turned out great use tapatio hot sauce n 2 Tbsp beef bouillion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryjane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was absolutely delicious!!! I followed the recipe exactly, and I wouldn't change a thing about it. It was so flavorful and juicy. Just perfect. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Rollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is so flippin' good! I used a 2 lb roast and adjusted according to our taste and preference. Next time, I will double the recipe. It was so good. We made tacos and I think I could've eaten about 10 of them. I took other's advice. I didn't cook the meat ahead of time (time saver) then about an hour before serving, I shredded it and placed it back in the juice. I added cumin and reduced the hot sauce as I was scared of the heat factor. Next time, I'll add more hot sauce. Love, love, love it. I can't wait to make again. yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I cut way back on the peppers and hot sauce(used Frank's red hot) and cut a little back on the spice. I added cumin and forgot the onion. Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Oh good gravy this stuff is FABULOUS! I made it for the first time for Christmas Eve dinner. I was worried being that I've never made it before. Talk about a huge hit! Even the neighbors loved it! I read the reviews and here is what I did...and it was NOT too hot!!!!! If you use tobasco or real jalapenos, then yes...it will be hot. However, I used Louisiana hot sauce and two cans of diced green chili's. I cooked it for 8 hours...took it out...shredded it...added the cumin and paprika like the "Most Helpful Positive Review" said to do. Personally...I want more heat but had to start off mild for the family. This thing cooked all night and woke us up with the WONDERFUL smell! Had it for breakfast for Christmas morning with scrambled eggs and such. Life is good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Really tasty with a bit of a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This makes a large quantity of meat. It freezes well for later meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Point, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I've wanted to try this recipe for a long time and kept passing it over in my recipe box. I finally decided to try it and got the ingredients, and before I made it I read some of the reviews. Some of the "atomic bomb" comments were a little scary! But I made it anyway as written, except I added a little cumin per the reviews, and WOW, this turned out great for us! I suspect there is some confusion about the interpretation of the ingredients... I used a can of chopped green chili peppers and not jalapenos or any other hot pepper This was not too hot for us and the combo of hot sauce and green chilis was spot on. I wished I had bought a larger roast... this was gone in no time! And no atomic bombs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 769) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States