Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I used around 3 oz of hot sauce and that was perfect as far as I'm concerned, that way people can add more heat if they want but it didn't overwhelm those who don't like things quite as hot. I left my onion and jalapeno in big chunks so I could fish them out before shredding the beef and then letting it sit on low for another hour. I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This recipe is a great starter, but you do have to tweek it to make it "perfect". I didn't brown the meat - no need to since you're going to shred it anyways. Added 1 1/2 tsp of cumin as suggested by others. After 6 hours on high, shredded the meat and added back into the slow cooker. Added addn'l 1 1/2 tsp of cumin, 3 cubes of beel boulion and cooked for another hour or so. This was really good...and we have enough meat for anohter meal tonight! It's a beautiful thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Loved this...but everybody said it was very hot. I did not think so. Shredded it and put it over rice. A keeper for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tesa Dazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Charley said venison could be used and so venison it was. I followed the recipe exactly and had wonderful results. Garnish with jalapeno, onions, cilantro, sour cream, and a squirt of lime and you have yourself a party. The only thing I might do differently next time is add some cumin in the last 2 hours of cooking but only because I love the flavor in my tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great meat filling! I used it for tamales, which sadly was the only part of the tamale that was good and I have also made tacos with it a few times. I do add a can of mexican tomato sauce. Ty Charley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Excellent and easy recipe. The meat was very tender. My only warning is it is VERY spicy, so if you have a tender tummy, or are cooking for kiddos, tone the spice amounts down to taste. Otherwise-- killer stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was good, easy to follow, I just felt it was lacking something, not quite sure of what though. Cooked on high for 6 hours, tuned to low until we were ready to eat. It fell apart ! Loved that part ! Will be making it again, looking for the 'missing' ingredient ! Thanks for sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARYL4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Well I didn't make the recipe as listed, I made adjustments according to the most popular review and it was AMAZING. Everyone that ate it raved about it and asked for the recipe. If you are going to stick with the recipe on the site, it is essential that once the meat is tender enough to be shredded, you shred it and then leave it in the crock pot for 1 1/2-2 hours more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandaz13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Extremely good! I put in a can of beef broth and some green pepper per others suggestions. I put it in the crockpot on low for about 7 hours while I was gone. Then I shredded the meat and put it on high for about 1/2 hour. We made tacos and burritos with it and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Granby, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This was fabulous. I made a few alterations. First, due to timing issues, I cooked it on low for 9-10 hours then shredded it and kept it on warm for another hour (allowing me to leave it cooking while I was at work all day). I also used beer and some chicken stock for the liquid, though I added too much so had to boil some of it down while I was shredding the meat. Either way it was a huge hit at my cinco de mayo fiesta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmpark01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 750) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States