Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Very tasty! Using many of the recommendations here, I added sliced onions and peppers to bottom of crock pot then put roast on top. Seasoned it with Adobo seasoning, cumin, garlic powder, chili powder, cayenne pepper. Added 1 cup of beef broth, can of tomatoes with green chiles, and 1 can of green chiles. Finally, added 1/4 cup of Frank's Red Hot. I was worried about the heat but it was fine. I used a 5lb chuck roast and cooked on high for 7 hours, then shredded and returned to liquid-filled crock for another 90 minutes. That was key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I just tossed everything into the trusty crock pot all day. Added one large chopped up tomato towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
also..as one poster said..I sauteed fresh garlic with the onions and added some cumin and a can of Rotel. Delicious!...add some cilantro and you can use ground turkey and no one knows the difference!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was excellent! Reminds me of Chipotle's Barbacoa beef. I didn't have time to brown the meat first but I don't think it made a difference. Threw in some sliced onions and bell peppers which I had, along with one large can of mild green chillis. Was worried about the spice, so only used 2 ounces of Tapitio, which was just enough heat for my tastes (pretty weak). I only used a 2 pound chuck, so I halved all the spices and added a half teaspoon of cumin as well. Cooked on high for four hours, shredded and then back on low for 2.5 more. Delicious. Only thing I would have done different is trim the fat prior to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
awesome!!! whole family loved this and we made 3 dinners out of this one recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was delicious! I was afraid after reading some reviews that it would be too hot/spicy which i am not a fan of but it was great and i did make some adjustments. I did not add cayenne because i didn't have it on hand and i forgot to put in garlic. I added a can of beef broth for fear of it drying out and to prevent it from being too hot. This is a keeper, next time i will add the cayenne and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This recipe tasted very good for us and I will try it again with the other meats. Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This recipe is great!!! I didn't brown the meat- just threw everything into the good old crock pot, and let it rip!!! I think I added too much water, but it didn't hamper the flavor at all! Next time, I will try it with chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Sooooo Gooood!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Loved this! I sauteed fresh garlic with the onions and added some cumin and a can of Rotel. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 181-190 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States