Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Great recipe. Made a big batch on Sunday. Used the meat for tacos on Monday night, and then again on Wednesday for Beef Enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This was really good. I was making fajitas with a different recipe that my bf really likes. I had too much meat & have been wanting to try this recipe for about 6 years now so I threw the rest of the meat in the crock pot. Then I never tried this & put it in the freezer for about 2 weeks. Pulled it out on a night I didn't want to cook, it was so good! My bf said it was better than the fajita meat he loves. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was great. I prepared as written except I used a green chile sauce ONLY because the red sauces at my store all said extra hot. I made a small roast since there are only 2 of us, but I look forward to making a larger one and using the leftovers for enchilada filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I halved this recipe to use up a couple of beef shanks I bought on sale without knowing how I was going to cook them. This worked out quite well. I didn't use the whole bottle of hot sauce, although I would have liked to. DH has developed a slight allergy to hot foods, so I had to cut back. I did add some cumin and a can of Rotel. The meat came out extremely tender and after shredding it, I put it back in the sauce. Served it with soft corn tortillas and it was wonderful. Thanks, Charley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This recipe is spicy and delicious. My husband LOVES it. We call it "atomic beef" too. I do not make any changes to the original recipe. I try and shred the meat with a few hours left to cook so it soaks in the juice. I'm going to try and freeze the leftovers next time. It's a lot of food for two people to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Love this recipe! I have made in a dozen times and my husband loves it. Thanks Charley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My husband and I love this stuff! We use Franks hot sauce and it comes out great each time. I'm lazy and don't brown the meat, so I don't use the oil. I just throw the rest of the ingredients into the crockpot and let it go. My mom loves to take the leftover juice and turn it into a soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was great for shredded beef soft tacos. I played it safe and used 2 cans diced chiles (1 cup) and 4 oz. LA hot sauce. I will use the full amount next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I made this just as directed and then reduced down added paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Wow, was this ever good. I used a pork roast and a bottle of chipotle hot pepper sauce. Served in flour tortillas with pico de gallo, sour cream, cheese tomato and lettuce. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States