Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This recipe is spicy and delicious. My husband LOVES it. We call it "atomic beef" too. I do not make any changes to the original recipe. I try and shred the meat with a few hours left to cook so it soaks in the juice. I'm going to try and freeze the leftovers next time. It's a lot of food for two people to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Love this recipe! I have made in a dozen times and my husband loves it. Thanks Charley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My husband and I love this stuff! We use Franks hot sauce and it comes out great each time. I'm lazy and don't brown the meat, so I don't use the oil. I just throw the rest of the ingredients into the crockpot and let it go. My mom loves to take the leftover juice and turn it into a soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was great for shredded beef soft tacos. I played it safe and used 2 cans diced chiles (1 cup) and 4 oz. LA hot sauce. I will use the full amount next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I made this just as directed and then reduced down added paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Wow, was this ever good. I used a pork roast and a bottle of chipotle hot pepper sauce. Served in flour tortillas with pico de gallo, sour cream, cheese tomato and lettuce. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
So very good. Added some cumin, but otherwise stuck to the recipe (even using the full 5 ounces of hot sauce). Wonderful flavor and not too spicy at all -- just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Hubby loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Angulo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Franklin, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This recipe was very good. I used an eye of round roast that I cut into 2 inch cubes. I blended the onion, garlic and peppers with the spices and hot sauce. An hour before serving, I shredded the beef and added it back to the crock pot to absorb more of the sauce flavours. I served this with diced tomato, jalapeno, onion, and lettuce on whole wheat wraps, burrito style, which we grilled on the panini press. I found that the meat could have been spicier, so next time I will add more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Oh man, this stuff is yummy! Loved it and will be making it again and again! Used Cholula hot sauce and cut back on the cayenne. Wasn't too spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 750) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States