Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
We really enjoyed this recipe. I made a few changes based on reviews. I only used a few tablespoons of hotsauce and no cayenne because of my kids. I also added about a bottle of beer to the liquid to add more flavor. Put these in tortillas and it was enjoyed by everyone! Going to make beef enchiladas with the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVAMARIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vella_marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Great recipe. The entire family loved it. I froze the leftover steak for future meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC girl
Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
bomb.com made it for a potluck with a few minor tweeks, was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary LeeAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Holy smokes this was good!! Definitely tasted like the authentic shredded beef I love from my favorite Mexican taco shops in San Diego that I've been dying for out in the Midwest!! I'm such a happy camper that I found this! I used another less fatty roast, I think it was a rump roast, the chuck roast just looked way too fatty to me... I followed the recipe and wasn't sure what to do for the green peppers so I used a bananna pepper and an ancho pepper. I cooked on high 4 hrs, flipping it once. Then I cut the meat up into large chunks and cooked another 5 hrs on low... It was a long time to wait but so worth the wait...served on warmed corn tortillas with shredded lettuce, a squeeze of fresh lime, avocado and a little cilantro... To die for!! Thank thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!! The meat turned out delicious with a little kick to it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Fantastic!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate
Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I had no problem with the spice factor it was the taste of hot sauce that ruined this for me. That was all I could taste. I think if you were to double the spices except the cayenne, and added some water or beef broth to replace to hot sauce it would of been a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waddington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe. Maybe I used the wrong hot sauce, I don't know, but I will not make this again. I also think I should have followed reviewers' advice and put the shredded beef back in the cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I have used this with chicken twice, love it. I use just one Tablespoon of the hot sauce and it is still kid friendly. I look forward to trying it with beef and pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States