Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
me and my husband love this recipe. this is the only way we make tacos for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe that can be adjusted according to taste preferences. I usually use it for shredded beef enchiladas and my husband (who is picky about how his food is prepared) LOVES them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was really good! I 'm from SanDiego too so I followed Impish's advice. I used a 2 lb. london broil because the chuck at my grocery store looked extremely fatty. I scaled down the onions but not the other ingredients. I have a 2 year old so I used a small can of green chiles instead of jalapenos but I did use a whole 5 ounce bottle of cholula's chile garlic sauce. I made tacos on corn tortillas with jack cheese, lettuce, cilatro, salsa and sour cream. Tasted so good that I felt like I was eating at a restaurant. My kid loved it. Can't wait till he gets older so I can try the jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My whole family loved this beef! I followed suggestions from Impish, except for the hot sauce. I cut back the amount of hot sauce for my young grandchildren who only like a little "hot". I did dry out the beef in a 350 degree oven for tacos, since it still had a lot of liquid with it after the second cooking. The children liked it straight from the crockpot however. A total hit for my famly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this with a pork tenderloin, and it was fabulous. It was so easy to prepare and had so much flavor. Will be making again with a beef roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I found this to be a fantastic and delicious recipe. This was the first time I tried it and I used pork. First off, I did not brown my pork (way too much splattering oil and my day help hates when I do this). Salt and pepper on the roast and into the crock pot it went. I added 1 can chicken broth, chili powder, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder, and cumin. I cooked the meat until it was tender and would pull apart easily. (I tasted the meat and yes, the outside part was nicely spiced and the inside meat did not have as much flavor.) This was when I knew that I needed to re-cook the meat. The recipe does not state this, but as a cook you need to follow instinctual thought processes. Following a recipe is easy. Anyone can do that. But what to do after that is something I have learned over many years. I have learned to read between the lines. My intuition has never failed me. I refrigerated the roast overnight, and the next morning I shredded the meat and I placed it back into the crock pot along with the juice that it had been cooked in previously (there wasn't a lot). This is when I added the hot sauce, finely diced onion, 2 cans jalapeno peppers, more chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper. I cooked it again for about 4 hours. I plan on using this meat for tamales this year, something I make for Thanksgiving and then again for Christmas. I am going to try it with chicken and also beef. This is going to be a very fun kitchen experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Made 4 dozen tamales last night using this recipe; used total 5 lbs chuck. Followed reviewer's suggestion (Impish from San Diego; October 1, 2006) to add more spices and bottle of hot sauce. Meat was fork tender and, surprisingly, not too spicy-hot--in fact it wasn't hot at all, just a hint of Latin. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
i use a high quality chuck roast, other roasts or meats work fine to. sear your meat if you wish, place in crock pot then add all your seasonings, also add a few pepper corns,1 bay leaf, and 1 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika (more or less) 1 or 2 bottles of modello, or corona.. (but first heres the trick if you have access to a mexican market, go there and pick yourself up 2 or 3 varieties of fresh mexican peppers any colors, then find the cascabel, its in the mexican spice section) then add chopped or whole peppers and whole cascabell 2 is fine (there is no need to chop up your fresh peppers seeing is your just using them for flavor,cutting them up exposes the seeds and makes it hotter especially if you plan on returning the meat to the liquid) add your hot pepper sauce if you wish, but it probably wont do much as far as meat flavor, cook 6 to 8 hrs. low. i then strain off the liquid, and pour some over the shredded meat in a shallow dish, ... enjoy, and Happy Cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This recipe is fantastic!! Soooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Very good! I left out the cayenne pepper and just poured some hot pepper sauce on top since I have two little ones who don't like spicy foods. I didn't brown it in a pan beforehand, just cooked it on low for 8 hours. So tender and flavorful. We made soft tacos with the meat....homemade guacamole, lettuce, cheese, and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 779) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States