Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I love this recipe! I had a 'pot roast' sitting in my freezer and this was an unexpected wonderful alternative. I didn't brown it, just threw it in the Crock pot with my favorite hot sauce, seasonings, onion, tomato sauce (didn't have diced tomatoes), some Adobe peppers - I shredded it after 4 hours and then cooked for about 2 hours. For me, it was a spicy Chipotle Barbacoa - I loved it! So happy for the Pot Roast alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foleymk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is a nice, spicy filling for home-made tacos, enchiladas, burritos, quesadillas, Mexican casseroles, or whatever Mexican dish you need shredded beef for. Like many others, I tweak it to suit my personal taste--I add cumin, go heavy on the chili powder, and throw in a beef bouillon cube. I also don't bother with browning the meat first, it seems uneccesary. The secret to thoroughly saturated flavor is, after the meat is shredded, strain out the green chiles and onions and put the shredded meat back into the sauce to simmer on low for another couple of hours. My husband loves this and will even make sandwiches with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I was looking for a way to use up some things I had on hand when I found this, and used it more as a template than a recipe. I used a chuck roast (I did brown it but will try it without browning next time), a can of Rotel tomatoes, a can of chopped chilis, one large diced onion, and some of the Taco Seasoning from this site (Bill Echols I think.....I keep it on hand always!) Cooked it on high 6 hours, shredded it in the crock pot and let it sit a while. Then reheated it on low when we were ready to eat. Fantastic!!!! Hubby really liked it. Would make awesome burritos as well. You can tweak this one a lot. I will be using this often. I also think you could do the same thing and change up the ingredients, like tomato sauce, canned mushrooms, peppers and onions for a sphaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lboone

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Made this for Super Bowl Sunday as part of a taco bar, everyone loved it. Great flavor, only change I accidentally made was not putting water in the crockpot, but ultimately I think that ended up being a good mistake. Shredded very easily and was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
alright base recipe so i made some changes! after 5 hours in the crockpot w seasonings just the way the recipes says except much less hot sauce. figured we could always add more if it wasnt hot enough. i tasted it whoa hot stuff and i like spicey. so i added another half a can of beef broth to dilute. flavor wasnt amazing so i added a lot of garlic powder more paprika, cumin, some mccormicks montreal steak seasoning, two bay leaves. i also shredded the beef. after another hour tried it again yummy! cooled down the heat factor just a touch and added so much flavor cant wait to try it in a taco. i actually think this recipe on its own is 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I need to preface this review by saying I grew up on "Ameri-Mex": ground beef w/the yellow packet seasoning was tacos in our world. I've never seen a reason to stray from this familiar favorite. I was perusing recipes to find something to do w/a chuck roast, when this highly rated "not a roast" caught my eye. I decided to give it a whirl and I'm slow glad I did! This is excellent! We ate it on soft shell tacos w/sour cream, cheese, lettuce, and tomatoes. While Mr. LTH found it a bit spicy, he still enjoyed it and I didn't find it very spicy at all (nice hint of a heat after taste, no runny nose or burn). I'm super lazy and when I find a crock pot meal, I don't want to do any additional work, so i elected NOT to brown the meat. I simply tossed everything in the crock pot (minus black pepper because I hate it) and cooked on low for 12 hours. The meat was fall apart tender. I did up the chili powder to 1 T and I just now realized I'd forgotten the garlic powder. I also added a 1/4 tsp cumin and a dash of paprika. This will def replace ground beef tacos in the LTH household; thanks CHARLEY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
When I first tested this right out of the crock pot it just tasted like a roast. Good, but not really something I would want to eat on a taco or nachos. However, I made it for tacos, so I was going to try it in a taco. Oh My Gosh!!! I will never use hamburger meat for tacos again. This was so incredibly yummy. I can't wait to make it again correctly. I was missing a lot of ingredients, but it was still so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was SOOO good!!! Got a ton of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNSEYKW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampden, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
SOOOOO GOOOOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
me and my husband love this recipe. this is the only way we make tacos for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 778) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States