Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Oh my gosh! I made this recipe using a 4lb pork roast and it was amazing! I didn't brown it, I just threw it right into the crockpot. I combined all the other ingredients in a bowl, then poured it over the pork. I left it on low for 10hrs. It took me literally one minute to shred all of it- I just pressed on it with my fork and it fell apart. I then dumped all the shredded pork and all the liquid into a large pot and cooked it on medium/high until all the liquid was evaporated...about 20min, making sure to stir occasionally. We made pork soft tacos with freshly made pico de gallo and guacamole. My whole family gave it rave reviews and I keep getting into the leftover pork to eat it straight from the bowl! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I tried this recipe for a second time recently, and I'm very pleased with how it came out. It is necessary to adjust the heat to your taste, like the author says. I used one small can of mild diced green chilies and most of a small can of chipotle chilies in adobo sauce to give the dish a smoky flavor, plus a beef bullion cube and a dash of cumin as a few other reviewers suggested. I used a few splashes of chipotle hot sauce and left out the chili powder and cayenne completely. I would say mine was "medium" spicy...it had a kick but was not too hot. I cooked the meat for about 5 hours, and it was very easy to pull apart and very tender. The only thing I don't like about the dish is the excess liquid, but that's kind of a requirement to get a tender meat....I just need a better slotted spoon! It makes an amazing taco meat with corn tortillas, lots of cilantro, lime, and lettuce. I expect it to become part of my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nereidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Nothing more than a really spicy pot roast. It had plenty of heat but no flavor. I made this for a party and was able to salvage it after draining and re-cooking the meat with different spices. This is not a Mexican style meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Great recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Great recipe, very simple yet different than your regular roast. We loved it in tacos with lettuce, avacado and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I used 1/2 the hot sauce it called for and it was the best taco meat EVER! We used it for tacos, nachos, burrittos and even while camping, I took some that I had froze and used it in pudgy pie makers over the fire for a cheese and taco meat pudgy pie sandwhich. Everyone whom I have made it for has loved it. Anyone who gives this a low score for too much "heat," use your noggin and notice that if it uses that much HOT sauce then of course it is going to be very HOT. Just cut it back to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This taco meat was incredible! My hard to please husband was very impressed. And SO easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Everyone had seconds! I made this exactly as the recipe says. I was a little concerned that it would be too spicy, especially for my youngest son, but he loved it. So don't be too intimidated by the ingredients. I know they look really spicy, but it really was perfect and had a great flavor. The hot sauce I used was Cholula because that is our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 778) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States