Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I made this for a pot luck at my work. I followed the other review that was listed as helpful and added additional paprika and cumin. It has outstanding complex flavor. My tastes for spice are varied and I didn't think it was too spicy, the feedback I got was "too hot". I decided since I wasn't too familiar with working with chilies that I would follow instructions and use jalapenos. What I discovered was a cup and a fourth of jalapenos is a lot. =) I think next time I will probably substitute poblanos or even green bell peppers in lieu of the jalapenos. While the other two don't pack nearly the punch of heat, both are nightshades so you'd get a similar flavor profile without the 4 alarm fire. Whoever it is calling this "atomic beef" clearly doesn't eat chilies very often and has no business working with them at this level. This stuff isn't nearly as hot as the thai spicy foods I get here in town, but it ain't for sissies either. I will also try a more mild hot sauce than Tapatio, maybe Tabasco or find another mild but still tomato based hot sauce. Rotel or even just some diced stewed tomatoes might be good. I wouldn't worry about it becoming too acidic, as sometimes Tabasco can do. The richness of the chuck roast will cut the acidity easily. I would recommend serving this with some sides of sour cream and guacamole, plus maybe some cheese, tomato (or pico), lettuce, cilantro, perhaps some rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Utah, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
so easy to make and incredibly versatile! Toned it down for the kiddos (3 oz or so of hot sauce, half the cayanne/chile pepper). Added mexican oregano and cumin along with paprika. Served on french rolls broiled with garlic butter, provolone and/or gouda cheese, tomatoes, avacado, lettuce and mayo. YUMMM...had a sandwich yesterday and today and loved them! But that's my limit...I don't do alot of red meat and I can feel it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is the recipe I use faithfully for my tamale filling and it makes a great enchilada filling too. It's easy. Let it cook overnight and the next morning you have meat ready to place in your masa. We use boneless chicken breast. We like to have extra sauce to pour over the tamales when we eat them so for 4 lbs of meat we double the rest of the ingredients before slow cooking. This gives us enough filling for at least 24 large tamales and left over sauce for pouring or dipping later. We make at least 4 dozen when we make them because our family and friends can't seem to get enough. Even my husband's Mexican family loves them. I do advise trying different kinds of hot pepper sauces the first few times you make it because it really affects the flavor and you may find one you enjoy more. I give this 5 stars because the flavor is deliciously spicy but doesn't create that uncomfortable lingering burn some fear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Good. Didn't put requried amount of jalapenos in...should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
The meat was very tender and easy to shred, but we found that it lacked flavor and kick. DH said it did not have much of a Mexican taste. Thanks for sharing but unfortunately I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
My family LOVES this recipe! The only thing I do differently is add some fresh garlic cloves to the cooker because we really like garlic! Absolutely the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I've made this with beef and pork; both are great. I cook it in shifts; after the first 6 hours I remove & shred the meat. I strain the broth and place it in a separate container. I refrigerate both overnight, allowing the fat to separate. A small portion of meat is set-aside for grandchildren that can't handle the spiciness. The remaining meat & broth is returned to the slow cooker for a few hours or cooked in the oven until hot and the desired consistency. Great for burritos, salads, super nachos . . . wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This recipe rocks!!! All the people who gave it negative reviews must have done something wrong because this came out perfectly for me. I followed the recipe almost exactly - the only differences were that I used a 3lb chuck roast, and only about 3/4 cup of diced green chiles. Oh and I also added cumin like others suggested I used Cholula hot sauce as well. After 5 hours on high in my slow cooker, the meat was falling apart, INCREDIBLY tender. I did like others suggested and took the roast out, pulled the meat apart and then put it back into the slow cooker for an hour on Low. Afterwards the meat was incredibly juicy and flavorful. I made tacos with it with guacamole, pico de gallo, sour cream and cheese. my boyfriend loved it! he ate 7 tacos. I used some of the leftover meat today in quesadillas and once again it was phenomenal. It reminded me of the shredded meat they use at Chipotle. I will say that the juice/sauce that is left in the pot is VERY spicy. If you try to use that as a salsa, then yes it will be very hot. I just used a slotted spoon to remove the meat and veggies and then got rid of the sauce. Do not let the negative reviews sway you. This recipe will be in my cookbook FOREVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
i was a little scared about adding all the hot sauce, but I'm so glad I did. The recipe was great. I also stir fried the meat to get all the sauce out and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I used pork and as I don't have a crockpot, I just cooked it on the stovetop. Great for burritos and very easy to put together. Thank you for a simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 91-100 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States