Charleston Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
this is a great base dish, get creative and find the mixture that works for you. I made this christmas morning and while everyone told me it was great I am concocting an even better version with mushroom, extra bacon, onions, garlic, and potatoes with a bit of Old Bay. Followed a suggestion and cut leftovers into small portions and bagged it and put it in the freezer. Now the boys have something easy to grab and microwave in the morning. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I make this for Christmas morning. Delicious! I used a little more bacon because I had it left from another recipe. When the bacon was done, I poured off the fat but cooked 1/2 of a small onion in the residue and added that to the egg/ pepper mixture. Also used seasoned organic croutons and upped the eggs to 8 and the milk to 2 cups as suggested by others. This is really good and easy for Christmas morning when you are running around doing other things. Pop it into the oven and you are good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Made this Dec. 24th for Christmas morning (let it sit overnight)...It was deliciously naughty and terrible for you! I did add several more eggs. I also added some frozen hashbrowns. I guess if you're used to this type of food you won't mind the heavy brick of heart attack sitting in your stomach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Great recipe. Very easy to put together. Like others I prepare it the night before and place in the refrigerator until morning. Used unthawed peppers from this past summer's garden. Have made a couple of times now and always is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Love this recipe and always get lots of compliments when I serve it. Seasoned croutons give it much more flavor than most breakfast casseroles. I also add chopped bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this a few years ago for a Christmas brunch and it was such a big hit! I am asked to make this every year for our Christmas breakfast. I did use flavored croutons and red and green peppers (which made it very festive). I made it the day before, brought it out to sit for about 30 minutes and then baked per the recipe. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This recipe is AMAZING!!! It has already become a family tradition for Christmas morning, it is so delicious! The changes I made to the recipe were: - I used a larger amount of eggs and milk, 12 eggs and 2.5 cups of milk - I added more vegetables, including broccoli, tomato, mushrooms and caramelized onions Also, allowing this dish to sit in the fridge overnight is a must before tossing in the oven, the flavours blend together ten times better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Tasty casserole! Per reviews, I used 8 eggs, 2 cups of milk, and an entire pack of bacon (about 15 strips). The croutons I used were Sea Salt & Pepper, which gave the casserole a great flavor. I prepared the night before and baked it the next morning for 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Wonderful tasting, easy and quick to make. Sent to my granddaughter's school for a breakfast honoring grandparents, at the end none of it was left and several other casseroles were hardly touched. Now I make it for home and cut it in squares and freeze it for a quick in-a-hurry breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I love this recipe and have made it often. I sometimes do a cheese only version for picky eaters. It is best made the night before and refrigerated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States