Charleston Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is an easy dish to make on a Saturday morning and very flavourful! I made it with black forest ham instead of bacon and gave it a dash of parmesan on top. Only used half a pepper (orange) and it turned out awesome! Also used 8 eggs and 2 cups of milk -- served four substantial servings -- not 8. Will have to try for Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
We love this dish, and have it quite frequently as part of our Sunday breakfast. I do make a few changes to better suit our family. I do not use the bell pepper, as several people do not care for them. I also don't put the butter over the croutons. This can also be done as an overnight casserole, as I sometimes do it. Fully assembled, I cover the dish and put it in the fridge overnight. In the morning, I put the dish on the counter while the oven preheats, then bake as instructed. This is a great timesaver in the morning. I have also done this dish with sausage instead of bacon, and it is equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this for a church function and it was very well received. I was doubling the recipe so I used five bags of croutons, based on the package contents. I drizzled the butter over the croutons as directed, and then I put sauteed onions and red peppers, and the cheese over the croutons before adding the egg/milk mixture. We started out with 12 eggs and I ended up adding six more eggs and more milk to get a better liquid to crouton ratio. It received many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I made this for breakfast for some friends just before we went on a trip. I used the hashbrowns with the onions & peppers instead of croutons and also added chopped tomatoes and spinach. Used 14 eggs as another reviewer recommended and a 9x13 pan. Had to bake it about 15 min. longer (maybe it was my oven) but it came out perfect. Our friends raved & said it was the best breakfast casserole they'd ever had. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
good, needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Very very good and easy! I halved the recipe for just my husband and I. I did add in an extra egg, a splash more milk, only 1 tsp of mustard, a generous pinch of salt, and 10 turns of the pepper grinder. I think I'll make it with sausage next time, because the bacon ended up a little tough for us. This recipe is a great canvas for lots of variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Really good. Adding in some onions and just cooked them with peppers and a whole pack of chopped up bacon. Added in turkey sausage links chopped up. Added this mixture on top of 8 instead of 6 eggs and used mozzarellla and cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
It was okay. ;/ Not my favorite breakfast casserole, as I didn't care for the mushiness of the croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I've made this with sausage instead of bacon. Family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made this for a scrapbook weekend - and it was an insane hit!! I felt like a wizard in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States