Chard Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Delicious. I added some leftover chicken to make the recipe more satisfying to my meat eating husband and teenage son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Very good base recipe! I used collard greens and spinach instead of the chard. I would have used veggie broth instead of the chicken to make it truly vegetarian but I was out so I used water instead. I also put some fresh homemade salsa, avocados, cilantro, black beans, and squeezed fresh lime juice on ours. With all of those extras it felt heavy enough for a main dish. Next time I'll add some corn to it and skip the queso fresco (expensive although good) and just use whatever cheese I have on hand. I also served it with spanish rice II from this site. Excellent! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Everyone liked these and it gave a great use of chard. I will for sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe! I tweaked it by adding fresh corn off the cob at the same time as the chard. I also added some cumin, chili powder, and pepper for some extra flavor. With a homemade salsa of tomatoes, red bell pepper, avocado, LOTS of cilantro, and lime, it was perfect. I didn't even need the cheese! Add a dash of Cafe Rio's tomatillo cilantro creamy dressing if you have one in the area!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
These were great. Will surely make again, probably tonight. Like the queso fresco because it adds a little saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Way better then I would have ever thought. I am trying to find some kid friendly vegetarian meals. One of three of my kids would try this and she had seconds! I had to make a second batch we ate so many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
First, may I recommend that you drain the chard after you cook it. I didn't and it made for very soggy tacos. Other than that, I like this recipe. The only thing that I think I would do differently is to maybe add a splash of lemon or lime to the taco for a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My husband nearly choked when I told him we were having meatless tacos for dinner. But after dinner, he couldn't stop saying how fantastic these were and that these were definitely a "do again". I don't often make things more than once, so it's a privilege for a recipe to be added to the "do again" file. Note that a pinch of salt really is just a small pinch of salt. I added a large pinch and it was borderline excessive. I guess it depends on how much salt is in your chicken broth, too. Also , next time, I'll use less red pepper and instead of mincing the garlic, I'll smash the gloves and pluck them out before I build the tacos. Also of note, I was only able to get 5 tacos out of this recipe which was fine for me and my husband. If I were serving 4, I'd double the recipe. Thanks for a great meatless taco recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was VERY yummy! To make this a vegan meal, I substituted the chicken broth with vegetable broth and the queso fresca with tofu and it was fabulous! I warmed whole wheat tortillas in a little coconut oil and topped with homemade salsa fresca and these tasted like fish tacos! Excellent, fresh and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmySioux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I had no idea if I would like this or not because swiss chard does not sound like it would go in taco shells. AMAZING!! I made my own corn taco shells and my own salsa. SO GOOD!!! Can't wait to make it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States