Charbroiled Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
What a simple and tasty way to make salmon! I used 1/2 cup soy sauce, 1 tbs brown sugar, and 1 clove chopped garlic, as suggested by others, and used white wine since I had no red wine on hand, and cooked the salmon on the George Foreman grill in 10 minutes. This was so easy and tasty that I made it again the next day, and since I was coming home from work and the gym, I needed a quick and healthy dinner, so I seasoned the salmon in a bowl, using pre-minced garlic out of a jar, and didn't bother marinating the salmon for hours, but just put the salmon in aluminum foil and spooned some of the marinade on top, closed the foil and put it in the oven 20 min at 350 degrees. Made instant brown rice which I cooked with frozen veggies for a side dish...very little mess to clean up...same great taste. This is a keeper. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
This was pretty good. I cooked it for my fiance and we both loved it. We are salmon lovers, but are very particular about it. And we enjoyed this meal very much. As per previous reviews, these are the changes I made. I decreased the soy sauce and increased the red wine both to 1/2 cup. I also added 2 tablespoons of brown sugar. I did not have an outdoor grill, so I used my oven broiler. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
I followed the previous advice and cut the soy sauce to 1/2 cup which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Best grilled salmon I ever had. Also used it on swordfish and it was great. I'll try it on other fish as well. Used 1/2 soy and 1/2 cup white wine along with a bit of minced garlic and 2 T. brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
I wanted a quick recipe for a dinner party and this sounded simple enough. I used wine vinegar instead of the wine. It was a smash hit - complimented by everyone, even my son who isn't too fond of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
EXCELLENT! I took the advice from some of the other reviews and cut the soy sauce back to 1/2 C and added 2 Tbsp brown sugar -my husband can't quit raving about the salmon tonight. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I am glad to be able to add another salmon recipe to my collection. Like other reviewers, I used 1/2 c of soy sauce and 1/2 c of red wine in the marinade; I also added 1 tbsp of brown sugar and 1 tsp of dijon mustard . After adding the salmon steaks to the mixture, I let them sit in the fridge for 4 hours. Just before cooking I added 1 tsp of lemon juice and 1 garlic clove, minced to the salmon marinade. As with all marinades, I just basted the salmon with it for the first half of the grilling time, to reduce the chance of food poisoning .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I think this recipe could be really great, the marinade was just a little too salty for me and I only marinated it for an hour and a half, not the recomended two plus hours. It might be because I didn't charbroil the salmon, I used packaged salmon from Trader Joe's that comes in a re-sealable plastic bag that you use to marinade and cook the fish in. It was super easy to make this way but next time I will try grilling it and adding more wine and less soy sauce to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Se Magnifique!!!! This is very tasty, and easy to make. I've already made it several times, and it's always a crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrismelissa

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I'm no chef and no fish fan either, but I made this as the main course for a special dinner and it was fantastic. I used the .5c soy, .5c white wine, and 1 tbsp brown sugar. Should taste good on pork too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

Grilled Salmon I

A simple marinade makes grilled salmon fillets irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States