Chanukah Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Happy Chanukah in October? I made these because they sounded delicious and indeed they are! I didn't have orange juice, but did have orange extract. It gave them a nice subtle orange flavor, and the house smells wonderful. I have no sense of depth, so some of mine are rolled too thick, and some too thin. The too thin are actually perfect. They're very crisp, got nicely brown around the edges, and held their shape very well. I was concerned with no chill time for this dough that they'd expand, but most of mine were fine. The ones that were too thick did spread a bit but that was my fault. The dough was easy to work with, too. I lightly floured my rolling surface, and they were easy to peel off and bake. I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe since cutout cookies are usually a real pain to me. But I'll make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
As this was posted when the holiday was almost over I am certainly baked out but I have saved it for next year. The ingrediants appear to be very child friendly in terms of a sturdy dough and the orange juice will give a bright flavor. This would be a good child friendly base for hamentaschen also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Made these for friends this year and they were great. Will use for Christmas cookies as well. Great flavor and wonderfully crisp. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Loved these cookies! They were such a hit the first time that we made 2 batches! The orange juice is a great touch. They are almost like the orange juice cookies in Modern Jewish Cooking - but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the exact recipe I grew up with. The recipe was on the lid of the box of my mom's Chanukah cookie cutters. They are good cookies if you like crispy cookies to dunk in your tea. My mom always sprinkled the cookies with blue colored sugar before baking. I find this dough a pain to work with. It is too sticky and then if you add more flour it ruins the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These cookies were moist and very good. I added homemade icing just for x-mas flare, and that was literally just "icing on the cake" . WIth or without, these cookies are great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edilbim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Nice small batch recipe for roll out cookies. Sometimes I'm in the mood for a nice sugar cookie, but most recipes make enough to feed 40 people. :) Love that these can be rolled out without refrigeration and that they aren't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I had a slight problem with the dough after the wet and dry were mixed, it got clumpy and hard to work with. I added the egg whites for moisture and managed to shape them into balls. After the baking process, the cookies turned out well. They are good without frosting and have a mouthwatering smell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
great cookies love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Trujillo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Excellent simple recipe. Loved that we didn't have to refrigerate the dough (always the worst part when my seven year old is helping cook). Perfect recipe as is! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States