Chanukah Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Thank you for this recipe. I made these cookies twice as sugar cookies adding a frosting that I made on my own. The last time for Thanks Giving. I shaped them into menorahs, hearts, mooses, and people using cookie cutters that I have had for a while and finally decided to use them. I will be making more cookies without frosting as butter cookies tonight for my Hanukkah party that will be tomorrow. I will shape them as driedels and menorahs. I love these cookies. I put the dough in the freezer for about Happy Hanukkah, eighth night. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Nice small batch recipe for roll out cookies. Sometimes I'm in the mood for a nice sugar cookie, but most recipes make enough to feed 40 people. :) Love that these can be rolled out without refrigeration and that they aren't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These cookies were moist and very good. I added homemade icing just for x-mas flare, and that was literally just "icing on the cake" . WIth or without, these cookies are great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edilbim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Happy Chanukah in October? I made these because they sounded delicious and indeed they are! I didn't have orange juice, but did have orange extract. It gave them a nice subtle orange flavor, and the house smells wonderful. I have no sense of depth, so some of mine are rolled too thick, and some too thin. The too thin are actually perfect. They're very crisp, got nicely brown around the edges, and held their shape very well. I was concerned with no chill time for this dough that they'd expand, but most of mine were fine. The ones that were too thick did spread a bit but that was my fault. The dough was easy to work with, too. I lightly floured my rolling surface, and they were easy to peel off and bake. I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe since cutout cookies are usually a real pain to me. But I'll make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
These came out great! I'm about to make them again right now!Some advice I have to make these successfully is to put down more than a light dusting of flour when you roll out the dough. This will make it much easier to cut out the different cookie shapes. Also, I made an icing for them by mixing together some milk, powdered sugar, and a little vanilla extract. If you decide to make this icing, you could also add coco powder instead of vanilla for a chocolat flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I was skeptical about cut-out cookie dough that did not require refrigeration, but I was proven wrong!! These are fantastic and so easy. The cookies held their shape perfectly when cooked. Only change was the use of orange extract instead of juice. Also I failed to pay attention and whipped the yolks, butter, sugar and extracts together and then sifted in the dry ingredients (as opposed to adding the yolks one at a time). Thankfully, the oversight didn't hurt the finished product at all. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Made these for friends this year and they were great. Will use for Christmas cookies as well. Great flavor and wonderfully crisp. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Loved these cookies! They were such a hit the first time that we made 2 batches! The orange juice is a great touch. They are almost like the orange juice cookies in Modern Jewish Cooking - but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These cookies were really good! I even put a Hersheys Kiss in the middle on some, and colored sugar on others. They were amazing cookies that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Excellent simple recipe. Loved that we didn't have to refrigerate the dough (always the worst part when my seven year old is helping cook). Perfect recipe as is! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States