Chanukah Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
As this was posted when the holiday was almost over I am certainly baked out but I have saved it for next year. The ingrediants appear to be very child friendly in terms of a sturdy dough and the orange juice will give a bright flavor. This would be a good child friendly base for hamentaschen also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Happy Chanukah in October? I made these because they sounded delicious and indeed they are! I didn't have orange juice, but did have orange extract. It gave them a nice subtle orange flavor, and the house smells wonderful. I have no sense of depth, so some of mine are rolled too thick, and some too thin. The too thin are actually perfect. They're very crisp, got nicely brown around the edges, and held their shape very well. I was concerned with no chill time for this dough that they'd expand, but most of mine were fine. The ones that were too thick did spread a bit but that was my fault. The dough was easy to work with, too. I lightly floured my rolling surface, and they were easy to peel off and bake. I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe since cutout cookies are usually a real pain to me. But I'll make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Made these for friends this year and they were great. Will use for Christmas cookies as well. Great flavor and wonderfully crisp. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the exact recipe I grew up with. The recipe was on the lid of the box of my mom's Chanukah cookie cutters. They are good cookies if you like crispy cookies to dunk in your tea. My mom always sprinkled the cookies with blue colored sugar before baking. I find this dough a pain to work with. It is too sticky and then if you add more flour it ruins the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Loved these cookies! They were such a hit the first time that we made 2 batches! The orange juice is a great touch. They are almost like the orange juice cookies in Modern Jewish Cooking - but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These cookies were really good! I even put a Hersheys Kiss in the middle on some, and colored sugar on others. They were amazing cookies that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Thank you for this recipe. I made these cookies twice as sugar cookies adding a frosting that I made on my own. The last time for Thanks Giving. I shaped them into menorahs, hearts, mooses, and people using cookie cutters that I have had for a while and finally decided to use them. I will be making more cookies without frosting as butter cookies tonight for my Hanukkah party that will be tomorrow. I will shape them as driedels and menorahs. I love these cookies. I put the dough in the freezer for about Happy Hanukkah, eighth night. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Excellent simple recipe. Loved that we didn't have to refrigerate the dough (always the worst part when my seven year old is helping cook). Perfect recipe as is! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These cookies were moist and very good. I added homemade icing just for x-mas flare, and that was literally just "icing on the cake" . WIth or without, these cookies are great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edilbim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
great cookies love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Trujillo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States