Chantilly Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I omitted the coconut and macadamias, and used it to frost mini chocolate cream puffs - it was just as good as the "cocoa puffs" from Liliha Bakery! Just make sure you use a big saucepan, because it bubbles and spits during the 12 minutes of stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
I'm from Hawaii and now living on the mainland. This recipe tastes just like it came from a bakery in Hawaii. (these mainland bakeries have never even heard of "chantilly"). I just frosted it over a chocolate cake from a box mix. So ONO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
...thaaaaank you Linda! I have been dying to find a chantilly frosting recipe since forever! MMM...let's see.. from experience in working in a bakery (where we had to order chantilly from an outside company), chantilly goes great not only with chocolate cake, but ANY flavor cake. It makes yellow cake more buttery tasting... its great with lemon or carrot cake..and its also great with freshly-baked mini croissants too- slice them open, spread some chantilly inside, sprinkle some macadamia nuts in it, and drizzle the outside with melted chocolate... impress your houseguests with that elegant and delicious dessert...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
very very good... just like komoda's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This is exactly the same with the filling on the German Chocolate Cake III, it's delicious!! I used half brown sugar and half sugar though, the taste blended nicely with the coconut. I also used chopped pecans instead of macadamia. Will definitely try macadamia next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
The icing is good, just make sure that you cook it long enough otherwise it will be runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
Exellent!!! It got rave reviews. I even made it with almonds once and everyone still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This frosting isn't very pretty but boy is it good. I used it as the filling layers between chocolate and vanilla cakes but then used regular buttercream on top. It went over QUITE well with the guests at my friend's baby shower. I highly recommend it. I made it with pecans instead of macadamias and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Very good. Was very nice on our French vanilla cake. Has a faint taste of caramel - so if you love coconut and caramels - this is the frosting for you! We actually prefer to warm this in the microwave and use it as a topping for ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was fabulous! It tastes very good on a chocolate cake I made for my in-laws. My husband couldn't get enough of it. I will make this again. Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarissaB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States