Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I love it all, the texture, the flavor, the taste.. amazing ! I will definately do another one soon ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by notbettycrocker
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This was my first attempt at making a cheesecake and it came out amazing! I followed the directions and took one users suggestion of using a spoon after mixing the cream cheese and sugar together. I did not use a water bath, just l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kerrync
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I can't get graham crackers where I live, so I substituted it with 250g crushed digestive biscuits and 100g melted butter. I mixed it in a saucepan, pressed it onto the bottom of a cake tin and baked that for 10 minutes before pouring the cheesecake filling in. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was outstanding. I served it at a family dinner and it was extremely well received! One small gripe I have about it is that despite switching off the oven and leaving the cake in for a few hours, my cake still cracked in the middle. Think that may have been due to insufficient buttering of the sides of the tin so I might try that in future. One of my aunts also felt that it was a little on the sweet side, so I might reduce the sugar to 1-1/3 cup in future. But if you follow the recipe exactly, the results will be fantastic, as good as if not better than any store-bought cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrync

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I've never left a review for any recipe before. I am not a good cook/baker. I have always wanted to try baking a cheesecake, but was always too intimidated. My 15 year old daughter loves cheesecake so she convinced me to try this recipe with her. We followed this exactly as written with all ingredients close to room temperature. The video was very helpful. This cake is AMAZING!! If I'd known I could make something this good I wouldn't have waited till I was 50 years old to try. Now I need to figure out how to make a good fruit topping and how to freeze slices. THANK YOU for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Half-wit Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
It was my very first time making a cheesecake from scratch and naturally, it was more than a little intimidating. Secondly, my oven won't be nominated for any prizes -- unless you count "Museum Centerpiece" or "Not-quite-antique-but-just-old", so, needless to say, the odds were stacked against me from the get-go. But, the amazing thing is, having read all the reviews, and, intent on applying the cross-cutting modifications, then reading a review that said to ignore all the modifications, I went ahead and ignored them, and then some. I did, in the short of it, follow this recipe to the exact T, nearly, with the exception of substituting regular milk for low-fat evaporated milk and very religiously, ensuring that I did not get too carried away with the mixing. Taking another reviewer's suggestion, I only mixed the cream cheese and the sugar with the handmixer. I did, however, pulverize the white sugar into a castor-sugar like particle in order to cut down the mixing time. And thereafter, I used a spoon to do the incorporating. I don't know if this helped - but I had not a crack on my cheesecake - absolutely flawless. My oven time did run to about 1 hour 30 minutes, but I fear that's because my oven will soon be retiring (or so, I hope!). All in all, this is an absolutely (almost) fail-safe, and comfortingly decadent and soothing cheesecake recipe. Bake away and enjoy to your heart's (but not waistline!) content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Half-wit Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I can't believe this is cheesecake???? I have been missing out all these years. This cheesecake is fluffy and airy and is MUCH MUCH better than the dense, tight cake that is made from the back of the package. Didn't have vanilla extract on hand, so we used almond with an apple topping...... Wow!! Everyone in my life enjoyed it immensely. Soooooo... we are making it again this month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmach
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
So easy and delicious! I put in 2 tablespoons of flour instead of 1/4 cup and it was awesome. So creamy and smooth. I also ran a knife around the edge after it was done baking and put it back into the oven with the door ajar to let cool for about an hour. Then straight to the fridge and I unlocked the spring form pan and no cracks. Thanks for posting. I will be making this wonderful cheesecake again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I found this a dense and thought the flavor was a little bit off, but my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
So good! I followed the filling recipe exactly, although I did warm up the ingredients on the preheating oven so they weren't cold. For the crust, I used 1 sleeve crushed crackers, 1/2 stick butter, and 1/3 cup brown sugar. SO GOOD - but should have doubled. Wrapped spring pan in two layers of big, heavy duty foil, no issues with water coming in. I poured a full kettle of boiling water in large roasting pan bath. Put in 350 oven for 60 min, then just turned oven off. No cracks and perfectly set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 4,443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States