Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Sonya ter Borg
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I made this exactly as per the recipe (maybe a little less flour) and it was perfect. I greased the sides thoroughly and while I wrapped it in foil for the waterbath, I didn't have a bath big enough for it so I did without and it was perfect. No cracks. Left it in the oven for about 2 hours after cooking (cooked for about an extra 25 minutes) and then refrigerated overnight. Topped with berries. My husband loved it! So rich but so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya ter Borg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Didn't change a thing. Worked out well. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is a great cheesecake recipe. For those of you that had unsuccessful results, I would like to share some of my tips for making a great cheesecake.... I always make sure all of my ingredients are room temperature because it eliminates any lumps in my batter... I also always mix my ingredients with a wooden spoon by hand, never a mixer. If there is too much air in your batter, it will taste gritty. Also, don't forget to spray the sides of your pan with a baking spray to prevent the cake from sticking- this step, combined with the water bath will eliminate any cracks. Also, it never hurts to use an oven thermometer to check the accuracy of your oven temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Dane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Second time making this cake. Making it this time with cinnamon toast crunch crust (Crush 6 cups cereal and mix with 1/2 cup melted butter). I over baked the first one but it was still yummy! Hoping I do a better job this time with the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I completely agree with Rollin's review. I felt and thought the same as Rollin, but decided to give it a go anyway and I regret it. It could be due to personal reference...but...I didn't like the way it tasted. Mine...there were parts that burned, the outside was dry and cracked some while the inside was really mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Who are you Chantal? You are my hero. I only tweaked the vanilla by using 1 tsp vanilla and 2 tsp almond extract. People are raving. Are you married?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
anybody who has anything negative to say about this recipe either has a vendetta against the person who submitted the recipe or they did not follow the directions. this is hands down the most delicious cheesecake i have ever made or eaten!! thank you so much for this superb recipe! i will say i only kept the cheesecake in the turned off oven for less than 2 hours because i needed the oven to make dinner and it was still perfect...no cracks at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
After thoroughly reading reviews I made the recipe with cooking at 325 for an hour as many people mentioned - i followed the recipe exactly except i used 2 tb's of flour instead of 4. I cut a slice out of my cheesecake this morning after I let it cool in the oven - it had not set it didn't bake long enough. Really disappointing. I put in back in the oven for a half hour and then threw it in the fridge. Hopefully that will help salvage it, next time I'm following the instructions exactly as they had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Wonderful! Followed the recipe with exact specificity. No additions, substitutions, omissions, or "water baths". This was the first time I ever used a spring form pan. After 6 hours, I removed the cheesecake from the oven and was not cracked (another first). In fact, it looked amazing. The top was a chocolate brown. The sides were a nice, light brown. My wife and I loved the creamy texture and absolute, perfect deliciousness. This recipe (as is) is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
The best I've ever made...easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States