Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Vanessa
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exact and it came out wonderful. Everyone thought the cake came from a bakery. It wasn't overly sweet like some cheesecakes can be. This tastes how a cheesecake should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Hands Down...best cheesecake I have ever made. I will never use another recipe! The only change I make, and I found this out by accident....I no longer add the flour, leave this out!! The texture will be perfect, not heavy, and no cracking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I've tried this recipe three times. I followed it exactly the first time, used a larger pan the second, and followed it exactly again for the third. Every time, it rises out of the pan, falls down in the center, and burns on top. The second time, when I used a larger pan, it still rose and collapsed in the center but the pan was large enough to hold it. It tastes okay, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andersen Loes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made this to recipe, it turned out perfect! I have never had cracking happen from not greasing the pan,(I never remember to grease the pan) but I do know if you over stir, it will crack for sure. I use my kitchenaid mixer on the lowest speed and let it stir until it is smooth. When I pour it into the pan I tap to make sure any bubbles are out. I made fresh berry compotes to drizzle over, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawnya Kohrdt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrew Mudd Sr.
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I have always enjoyed making Cheese cakes.. but when I tried this recipe the cake came out great.. the taste, texture, and the way it looked. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marcelacamargo
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is the best cheesecake I've ever had in my life! I ended up using soy milk because I didn't have regular milk but it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This turned out so beautiful!! The third cheesecake recipe I've tried and this one I will keep as a staple. Perfect texture, very creamy, very cheesy, with just the right amount of cakey. My batter did come out lumpy because I used fresh-out-of-the-yogurt-maker homemade sour cream, but after it's baked you can't really tell. I used a smaller pan so I scaled all the ingredients to 2/3 of the original, used 1/2 cup truvia (2 diabetics in the family), and used seeds of a vanilla bean instead of the extract. Those are the only changes I made. Oh, and I also used a waterbath. I blind baked my crust first, cooled, wrapped plastic wrap tightly around the bottom, then added 2 extra layers of aluminum foil. No soggy crust. My cheesecake did have a brown skin forming on top though, not sure why, but probably because the top was burning. Next time I'll try baking with a loosely covered foil on top. Great recipe, but probably wont turn out as well if you don't know tips & tricks or have experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I have failed 2 times before success~ I follow every steps on the1st time, and it crack. I add a tray of water on the bottom rack, and it crack again, but smaller crack~ now I have to lower the oven to 300F°, and bake for 90 minutes, and place the foil wrapped baking pan in a larger baking pan filled with water, than leave it in the oven for 6 hours. I finally success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
YOUR LIFE WILL NEVER BE THE SAME IF YOU MAKE THIS CHEESECAKE. there i was, an innocent amatuer baker, when i stumbled upon this cheesecake recipe. what fun! how delicious! seems simple enough! holy that's a lot of cream cheese! all of these were among my thoughts as i prepared to make this cake. and they all proved true. but i was not prepared for the enormity of cheesecake i would be creating. IT IS MASSIVE DO NOT LET IT INTO YOUR HOME IT WILL TAKE OVER YOUR LIFE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVE CHEESECAKE AND THIS RECIPE IS THE BOMB DIGGIDY. It's important to follow the recipe because substituting for reduced fat cheese causes the cake to be more pudding-like. I've also used a waterbath a couple of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sahar Muhammad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 4,381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States