Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I can't believe this is cheesecake???? I have been missing out all these years. This cheesecake is fluffy and airy and is MUCH MUCH better than the dense, tight cake that is made from the back of the package. Didn't have vanilla extract on hand, so we used almond with an apple topping...... Wow!! Everyone in my life enjoyed it immensely. Soooooo... we are making it again this month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmach
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
So easy and delicious! I put in 2 tablespoons of flour instead of 1/4 cup and it was awesome. So creamy and smooth. I also ran a knife around the edge after it was done baking and put it back into the oven with the door ajar to let cool for about an hour. Then straight to the fridge and I unlocked the spring form pan and no cracks. Thanks for posting. I will be making this wonderful cheesecake again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I found this a dense and thought the flavor was a little bit off, but my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
So good! I followed the filling recipe exactly, although I did warm up the ingredients on the preheating oven so they weren't cold. For the crust, I used 1 sleeve crushed crackers, 1/2 stick butter, and 1/3 cup brown sugar. SO GOOD - but should have doubled. Wrapped spring pan in two layers of big, heavy duty foil, no issues with water coming in. I poured a full kettle of boiling water in large roasting pan bath. Put in 350 oven for 60 min, then just turned oven off. No cracks and perfectly set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Liu
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I tried this few weeks ago. It was fantastic! Everyone tasted it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Liu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jinan, Shandong Province, China
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
All I can say is WOW!! I followed the recipe exactly and my cheesecake turned out amazing. The only thing I forgot was to grease the pan in the beginning, so the cheesecake did crack. But it was easily covered up by my topping. I made a lemon blueberry compote using half a bag if frozen blueberries, the zest and juice from one lemon and sugar to sweeten it up. Simmered until thickened and poured on top of cheesecake. It was my first cheesecake and everyone said it tasted gourmet! Seems like a fool proof recipe, I enjoyed it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Dan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Well I am here to tell you that the reviews are true. You cannot ruin this cheesecake if you follow the recipe. I didn't even have a mixer, I did the mixing by hand and remember DO NOT NOT OVER BEAT. Take your time it is so worth it. Also Don't over bake. BAKE 1 HOUR THEN LEAVE IT IN THE OVEN 6 HOURS, DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN DOOR TILL THEN. It came out perfect and it IS NY CHEESECAKE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
No fail delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Back in the 90's there was a show called 'Martin', on it was a character named "Shenay-nay"! Her trademark saying was, "Oh my Guuudness!". Well, haven't thought about that young lady in years, why did she come to my mind when I ate my first piece?!?! Oh my Guuudness!!!!! I can't believe I made this. I am a scattered cook with not a lot of confidence honestly, but this was awesome! I decreased flour to 2 Tbs, tweaked crust: 1 1 /2 c. graham cracker crumbs, 1/2 c. white sugar, 1/4 c. finely chopped Unsalted nuts ( pecans), 1/4 c. melted butter, 1 tsp. cinn. No water bath was used but would like to try so I can measure difference. I read reviews b4 I started, only changed what was necessary for my taste, because I knew I wouldn't want a cakey cheesecake (flour), and love a good crust on my desserts. I actually took it out after 1 1/2 hrs, no cracks!!! made a simple topping: 8 oz sour cream ,2 tbsp sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract. If there were any imperfections, it would have been covered by this yummy topping. Used strawberry pie filling to gather berries from and put them in two rows around edges. I never review/rate anything, but I had to let you all know.......FoolProof! Amazing! Thank all who reviewed this recipe before I attempted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 4,427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States